Thread: Heat Pump Sys: inlet/outlet temp differential

Post Likes

Heat Pump Sys: inlet/outlet temp differential

Newbie here to Hvac-Talk, and have a general question as to whether or not something is normal.

I've got a 1100sq ft apartment in central Ohio with a Trane 2 stage heat, 1 stage cool system. Outdoor unit is a Trane XE800 and appears to be an older unit, probably a 1-ton.

I haven't been able to find a model number on the air handler yet. Overall dimensions of the air handler are 20.5x14x43.5 and mfg date is 8/87. Heat strips are Trane BAY96X1406. Blower Motor was recently replaced with a AO Smith F48H15A01 (not sure if that's at all helpful).

Today with the thermostat set at 70*, the indoor air temp was 65*, inlet air at the air handler was 65*, and the outlet air temp (at the closest vent, about 4ft of ducting away) was 70*. Keep in mind, 50* ambient temp outside today. With the strips on, the outlet temp was around 90*

I had the apartment complex come look at the system because it ran for four hours straight like this with no temperature increase indoors. I finally boosted the thermostat so that the heat strips would come on. So my question is, is a 5* difference normal in this climate and conditions for an older system?

I think there may be more going on as there is little to no air coming out of the vents, the air filter is new, and it hasn't run continuously like this before, even when it was colder.

When maintenance came to check the system all he did was turn up the thermostat high enough for the strips to engage, stick his hand by the closest vent and say, "It's fine," and give me the heat-pumps put out colder air than a gas furnace speech.

I am mechanically inclined and took some engineering classes before changing majors, so I know how this stuff works, but I though I'd consult some experts to see if they would consider this a normally operating system.

Post Likes
    Something is wrong.