Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    I am still a newbie, and have not yet found employment in this field. Well not at a shop, but as a helper for a 1 man show part-time. So I was wondering do service technician have helpers? what is in house training like? This question is pretty much for all the shop owners, if I were hired in right out of trade school, what type of process will it take for someone to become a service technician?

Long hours, hard hot work, 5 years of carrying a journeymans tools for him, 24/7/52 on call. These are the good things. Wanna hear the down side??

Only time I ever get help is on system changeouts.
    We've been doing so much,for so long,with so little, that now we can do almost anything, with nothing at all.

as a technition, i prefer not to have help.
    99% of all service calls are a one man job anyway. i don't want to have to deal with someone else in the truck with me. i want to go to lunch when i want to, and if i want to, if i'm busy, i will usually grab a snack and drink between calls for lunch. not everybody does that, or likes to do that. if it's a slow day i may take an extended lunch or run a few errands.
    i wanted to put a picture here

What's with all this lunch? What is LUNCH? I don't recall my company giving such a thing. What do you do on this Lunch? Is it fun? Relaxing? Rewarding? Restful?

Lunch. What a novel concept.

lunch is where you can take a customer and be reimbursed by the company. (who says there is no such thing as a free lunch)
    oh yeh, you're the one living in snow zone, temps here have been in the 70's until the last few days here, so we have time for lunch.
    do you yankees even call it lunch ?
    i wanted to put a picture here

I have a cousin who is an experienced plumber. He's 55 years old and nearly died of a heart problem a year or so ago. He'll have a helper when he returns to work to assist him in getting work done.