Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: chiller help

chiller help

I am working on a York liquid screw chiller, oil pump and oil filter were both replaced prior to my arrival.
    Unit shuts off on low discharge pressre. I measure a 4.5bar restriction (somewhere in the compressor). please help,

As always

In order for anybody to help you, you also need to help us. We need some 411. Some history as in why was the oil pump and filter changed. Air cooled, water cooled.-GEO

ok i will try my best, I am still new at this.
    Costumer call was unit was tripping on low discharge pressure.
    They ( the costumers refer tech) changed oil filter and found a substantial amount of metal shavings.
    The unit is a York liquid screw unit with Appr. 750 hours. (Marine application)
    Myself and the York tech rep have been working on this for the last 2 days, we checked the oil pressure in the oil return line in a few different spots. We found a restriction in the new filter and replaced the filter again. When we run the unit we are starting in manually with the TXV at 15%. The slide valve is at its lowest setting which is 10%.
    When we bring the unit on it has low suction pressure which is normal for the start up time. It then drops to very low suction pressure, into negative. The unit still has a oil pressure drop of about 4-5bar. I cant find where the restriction is, it almost seems like it is in the compressor.
    Please help