Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Possible career change?

I currently work in the law enforcement field where I have been for the last five years. I am basically getting tired of the hours, working all the weekends holidays etc...

I possibly have an opportunity to enter into the HVAC field. I currently have no experience but have found a company who will hire me in. Basically this would include me attending a one month school and then coming back and working with an experienced tech. I would then be cut loose after that initial field training and begin to do I am assuming basic service work.

I have checked and the company is very reputable. My question is would this be a good way to enter the field??? I believe during that month long school I would gain my NATE certification and I believe one other. Looking for advice as I need to make my decision here in the very near future. Thanks in advance.

ya itd be a good way to get started but jus a warning, in this field u do work some crazy hours when its real busy and then when it gets slow u work less hours, theres a lot of turnover at most companies, the benfits r usually wek unless ur union, the pay is also not great usually. its fun (sometimes) tho. i used to work as a firemen and i too was tired of the hours and how political it was, in this field there is always sumtn to learn, i was lucky enough to do this while i was a firemen and i eventually got into the union so my pay and benfits are pretty good. think long and hard about leaving sumtn as stable as law enforcement bc of the job security n benefits

Thanks for the response. Why do you think there is alot of turn over at these companies. This company in particular is owned by a manufactuer of heating and air equip so the benefits are pretty good (non-union). They say my first year should be in the range of $35,000 and then by years 2-3 should be in the $50's, does that sound about right? I guess I am just nervous about starting all over in something... Thanks again.