Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 26 of 26
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    4,229
    You should just call the installer back out. And before they leave have them show you that it's working.

  2. #15
    Hi AMD ... How would you go about testing Stage 2 heating with 2H/1C setup on the T-Stat?

    Just update the T-Stat setup to handle 2H/1C ... and set the temp up a degree or two
    ... and let it run for several calls for heat? Are you thinking maybe it will reset itself and
    start with stage1 heat?

    Hi Tiger93rsl, I could call the installer back in ... but I suspect that he will just leave the T-Stat in 1H/1C setup and move the P7 jumper to 12 minutes and say that's the way it is! That is the BS he shoveled when he had only 4 wires to work with before replacing the T-Stat wires to 5 wires! Oh well I suppose I don't have much choice ... I'll have to get him in and prove that it switched to stage2 ... the only indicator I have is the FAN speed and looking at the flame....

    Thanks!

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,904
    Just update the T-Stat setup to handle 2H/1C ... and set the temp up a degree or two
    ... and let it run for several calls for heat? Are you thinking maybe it will reset itself and
    start with stage1 heat?
    It will go into second stage even if the setpoint is one degree above the room temperature.

    Just let it cycle a little bit and see what happens; there may not be a problem.
    General public's attitude towards our energy predicament: "I reject the reality of finite resource depletion and substitute it with my own; energy is infinite, we just need an alternative storage medium to run the cars on. The economy can grow indefinitely - we just need to "green" everything! Technology is energy! Peak what?"

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,305
    Quote Originally Posted by johnboy77 View Post
    Thanks for the info on the C 24vac Common. I have the old transformer that was used for the old A/C that I counld used to power the T-Stat.
    DO NOT wire this transformer..

    As said change the battery once a year.. I suggest to my customer change it in the fall when you change the clocks, and smoke alarm battery.

    Your system is wired up correct.. Just set your temp that you want, and walk away.. The t-stat will cycle the stages as needed.

    Make sure the Cycle per hour is set to 3.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Bartlett, IL
    Posts
    6,619
    Good grief....what a Joke!

  6. #19
    Hi Guys,

    I'll change the batteries every Fall and will NOT mess with the transformer. Thanks!

    Made the following Changes on the T-Stat and I will let it be for the rest of the day.
    I will let you know how it works out .... Thanks again for all your help!

    I've set 0170 to "9"
    System type
    1 1 heat/1 cool conventional
    2 1 heat/1 cool heat pump (no aux. heat)
    3 Heat only (2-wire systems)
    4 Heat only with fan
    5 Hot water Series 20 system (power to open & close zone valves/normally open zone valves)
    6 Cool only
    7 2 heat/1 cool heat pump (with aux. heat)
    8 2 heat/2 cool multistage conventional
    9 2 heat/1 cool multistage conventional
    10 1 heat/2 cool multistage conventional
    11 2 heat/2 cool heat pump (no aux. heat)
    12 3 heat/2 cool heat pump (with aux. heat)

    0220 1st stage compressor cycle rate ... I Set it at '3'
    3 Recommended for most compressors
    [Other options: 1, 2, 4, 5 or 6 CPH]

    0240 First stage heat .... I set it at '3'
    cycle rate (CPH= cycles per hour)

    5 Gas or oil furnaces of less than 90% efficiency
    1 Steam or gravity systems
    3 Hot water systems & furnaces of 90%+ efficiency
    9 Electric furnaces
    [Other options: 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 CPH]

    0250 Second stage heat cycle rate (CPH) ... I set it at '3'

    5 Gas or oil furnaces of less than 90% efficiency
    1 Steam or gravity systems
    3 Hot water systems & furnaces of 90%+ efficiency
    9 Electric furnaces
    [Other options: 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 CPH]

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,904
    Looks good.

    If you want 2nd stage to cycle on and off less agressively, set option 250 to 2.
    General public's attitude towards our energy predicament: "I reject the reality of finite resource depletion and substitute it with my own; energy is infinite, we just need an alternative storage medium to run the cars on. The economy can grow indefinitely - we just need to "green" everything! Technology is energy! Peak what?"

  8. #21
    Works like a charm! Mostly stayed at Stage 1 ... but did go to stage 2!
    Good info to set stage2 less aggressive ... so far Stage 1 seems to make the place much more comfortable than old furnace ... less temp fluxuations. Thanks for all your good advise and thanks to everyone for their help!!!

    Cheers!
    Jeff

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    5,305
    Glad to hear all is well.

    Two stage heat is great.. Love the comfort of the 1st stage.. Wait till it gets -10, you will feel even better!

  10. #23
    Ummmmmmm??? I thought this was a "non DIY" site. Sounds pretty DIY to me. Please pardon me for being blunt...and pointing out the obvious.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,784
    Quote Originally Posted by HVAC Installer View Post
    Ummmmmmm??? I thought this was a "non DIY" site. Sounds pretty DIY to me. Please pardon me for being blunt...and pointing out the obvious.
    I was thinking the same thing.

    My advice to this OP would be to ask the service manager to send his lead service man out to check the punch list he has for the install.

    I NEVER leave behind a vision pro setup manual. This guy is sharper than most, but in general, doing that is a bad idea.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    4,805
    What kinda hack leaves the filter inside the furnace geez
    i belong to peta ... people eating tasty animals. all my opinions are just mine.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,904
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    I was thinking the same thing.

    My advice to this OP would be to ask the service manager to send his lead service man out to check the punch list he has for the install.

    I NEVER leave behind a vision pro setup manual. This guy is sharper than most, but in general, doing that is a bad idea.
    What if the "lead service man" is also a hack?

    Honeywell setup/service manuals are available online anyway.
    General public's attitude towards our energy predicament: "I reject the reality of finite resource depletion and substitute it with my own; energy is infinite, we just need an alternative storage medium to run the cars on. The economy can grow indefinitely - we just need to "green" everything! Technology is energy! Peak what?"

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event