Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Ac Unit Runs Furnace Fan Won't... Not Sure If I can Ask This Here

    Hi Everyone,

    Thanks for taking the time to read this. Long Story Short.... I had a friend do My AC install. He was too lazy to run a new Wire from the thermostat. When I need heat he has to switch wires on the thermostat and on the furnace. I got cold last week and decided to try and do the switching myself. Now its hot again and I need my AC back. This guy is nowhere to be found and I cant figure out which wires to switch back. I had the AC running at one point but the furnace fan wouldn't. Now I cant get anything to run. Here is a diagram to the best of my abitlity.
    Thermostat
    c
    rc|
    o |
    b |
    rh|------Red To Furnace
    w------Green wire to furnace
    y------White wire to Furnace
    g

    Furnace -- Lennox Elite

    W
    R
    Y------Red From AC
    C------White From AC
    G
    I guess my question is what do I do with the thermostat wires to make the ac and fan work?

    Thanks if you can help.

    Jason Frederick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    147
    I will get in trouble for posting a DIY answer, try and google 5 wire stat hook-up. I can see easily what you have done but can not answer it here sorry.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    510
    You will need to hire a professional HVAC technician to come out to your house and run a new thermostat wire and connect it properly for you.

  4. #4
    I'd love to but I just got layed off and am broke as a joke. Cant afford that. Didnt realize you couldnt give DIY advice on here. Oh well.. I'll keep switching wires around till something happens...lol

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    147
    Dude google 5 wire thermostat installation you will easily find what your looking for.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,260
    Tell your lazy arse "friend" to get his but in gear and pull you a new set of wire, and tell him he owes you a new stat for letting you screw around with it in the first place!
    I r the king of the world!...or at least I get to stand on the roof and look down on the rest of yall

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Western MA.
    Posts
    509
    Some "friend"
    I love overtime I just hate working for it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,097
    When you connect the wrong wires and burn up the control board. Will you be able to afford an expensive new control board.

    No DIY, thread closed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event