Arrow New Home - Replacing Two Goodman Units

To Whom It May Concern:

I'd like to try and get some advice about my particular situation, since I'm not an HVAC expert by any means. I've purchased a new (2.5 year old) home... it was owned by the bank. The builder removed whatever HVAC there was, and put in a Goodman 3 ton for upstairs, and Goodman 5 ton for downstairs. They are both split systems, R22, gas heating and refrigerant cooling. It says 13 SEER on both units. Total square footage is 5,750 for indoor living space.

Here in Eagle (next to Boise), Idaho, it goes below freezing for maybe four weeks out of the year... and below 30 for only a week or so. I was told by two different local HVAC contractors that I should replace the units with a hybrid heat pump system. I'm not sure if I actually need hybrid (gas furnace for low temperatures)... or if just a high SEER R410a heat pump will do.

1) For a 3 and 5 ton residential split-system heat pump, can someone tell me what the highest SEER is that I could get?
    2) If I had both of the R22 units (13 SEER) replaced with 18 SEER heat pumps, how much more efficient would that be in cooling? How about in heating?
    3) Is this worth doing?
    4) Can someone just give me general advice on what I should do, period?

Thank you in advance.

-Lew Payne

First, why do you want to replace your Goodman units? There's typically no need to replace equipment that's only a few years old unless it was badly over- or under-sized for the house. Do you have a specific cooling/heating problem that needs addressing?

Hybrid heat is way overkill for your climate. Two heat pumps with electric backup heat will work fine.

Simplicity is what you have purchase, if installed properly they will provide the comfort you desire.

Highest SEER will vary by brand.

Before having heat pumps installed in place of your current A/C units.