Manitowoc With Cloudy Ice

I don't work on ice machines often so I'm a bit rusty. Lately I'm doing a lot of them.

We get abandoned restaurants frequently on the island. The owner gives up, shuts off the breakers and leaves with food still in the coolers, etc.

Today I worked on a Manitowoc S series (2004 vintage) that hadn't run for at least 6 months. I've never worked on one of these before, most of what we have are Ice-o-matics. The board was burnt, but after replacing it and running a few harvest cycles the ice is still cloudy. I did a quick cleaning and the water runs clear. It's not running low on water toward the end of the freeze cycle, and the pump doesn't seem to be sucking air. I think it might be a tad low on charge. The suction gets down to about 22 psi (404A) at the end of the harvest. Harvest is also slow, about 3 minutes, 80 psi suction.

The dishwasher told the new owner that it never worked right since they moved the condenser. It's about 20 feet away and the lines are even insulated. There's no cycling control so the fan runs all the time. Not sure what's wrong here.

Refrigerant charge has nothing to do with cloudy ice.

Since it's not sucking air, I'd look to see if the dump valve is opening during harvest.

Also make sure the drain line is sized correctly and there is a vent. Goes to making sure enough water is being flushed after each cycle. Might need a water filter.

Clean water, clean machine, then refrigerant problems. Try to keep your guages off the machine.
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

And long harvest could be a dirty evaporator also. There are little orfices in the grid to aid in harvest. If they are scaled you will have a long harvest.

The grid may look good wet, but when dry you will be able to see the scale.

Great advice, thanks! If there's someting to clog, it's clogged with calcium I'm sure.