Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Associates Degree

I hold an Associates degree in Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration as am wondering if this really helps my chances of land a job in this field? I am located in the Flint, Mi area. Thank You.

Quote Originally Posted by dandad02 View Post
    I hold an Associates degree in Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration as am wondering if this really helps my chances of land a job in this field? I am located in the Flint, Mi area. Thank You.
    In short, if you are speaking in terms of a technician the answer is NOPE!

It used to be that you could hire a kid off the street and teach them the trade. Things were slower paced back then and the trade was not as technically complicated.

The chances of hiring someone off the street in today's world and making a successful technician is about 20%.

I have come to realize that it is better to hire an young person with an associates degree in HVAC/R than it is to waste my time and the company's money on a string of duds. Our minimum for hiring a guy now is a certificate from a trade school with a EPA universal. We perfer an associates degree.

From what I read the mid west is not the best place to be right now but the east coast is starting to pick up.

Quote Originally Posted by benncool View Post
    It used to be that you could hire a kid off the street and teach them the trade. Things were slower paced back then and the trade was not as technically complicated.

The chances of hiring someone off the street in today's world and making a successful technician is about 20%.

I have come to realize that it is better to hire an young person with an associates degree in HVAC/R than it is to waste my time and the company's money on a string of duds. Our minimum for hiring a guy now is a certificate from a trade school with a EPA universal. We perfer an associates degree.