Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24
  1. #1

    Static pressure on infinity control

    What is a good pressure on the control? I have a 4 ton unit. It is a carrier split system with a 96 gas furnace o infinity control.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by wormie1205 View Post
    What is a good pressure on the control? I have a 4 ton unit. It is a carrier split system with a 96 gas furnace o infinity control.
    Below 0.7 even with a dirty filter.

  3. #3

    Thanks

    My static pressure in high is around 0.66. Guess I'm OK

  4. #4

    Helping pressure

    what should I do to improve the pressure?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    6,390

    Hmm A Few of many Air Flow Optimization Hints

    Quote Originally Posted by wormie1205 View Post
    what should I do to improve the pressure?
    Smooth duct transitions are nice to the air.
    Kinks can sometimes be easily eliminated.

    Use manufacturers WYE's instead of on-site fabricated junctions made from insulating board (a.k.a. duct board).

    Record overall static pressure with a NEW filter (hopefully about 0.5") and when the pressure is increased by about 0.2" (0.7" total), it is time to replace the filter.

    Do not use higher than a MERV 8 1" pleated filter. MERV 6 is sufficient.

    Or use a 5" filter so that filter replacement is less frequent ( perhaps annually with 5") and initial resistance is minimal.
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  6. #6

    wierd system

    This system had a temp of 68 in one room, and 71 in all the rest. That one room is the biggest in the house with 3 vents and around 670 sq ft. Strange system.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dallas & Longview, TX
    Posts
    629
    Strange but good. Have a tech come out and measure the static supply side vs. return. It the return is restrictive, add more filtration or ducting according to need. If high on supply side then add ducting refinements to lower it a bit.

    Once you have it perfected or even if you leave it as is, you still have room to adjust dampers to balance the airflow. Airflow adjustment will increase the static and could create noise issues if the static is to high.

    You may have enough room to balance the airflow without changes so you will need a good tech that has experience with this. I assume you have a 4" filter but if not I'd add it regardless.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    6,390

    Thumbs up Money and time will solve it !

    Quote Originally Posted by wormie1205 View Post
    This system had a temp of 68 in one room, and 71 in all the rest. That one room is the biggest in the house with 3 vents and around 670 sq ft. Strange system.
    If you want 1'F variance throughout the house, call and pay $,$$$. to an air balan$er.
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Quote Originally Posted by wormie1205 View Post
    This system had a temp of 68 in one room, and 71 in all the rest. That one room is the biggest in the house with 3 vents and around 670 sq ft. Strange system.
    That's the orignal duct system ,not the equipment!


    It can be corrected.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    196
    Quote Originally Posted by wormie1205 View Post
    what should I do to improve the pressure?
    There's no need to reduce static unless it's over limits or you're planning to rework your ducting for some reason.

    Just remember to replace your filter when it's dirty.

  11. #11

    Large ducts

    The 3 vents to the large room are 8 inch and the rest of the house are 6 except for the large great room upstairs. it has 10 inch split into 3 upstairs.

  12. #12

    infinity thermostat

    Does anyone have any idea what operating system thie unit uses to control itself? windows, linux, etc?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Dallas & Longview, TX
    Posts
    629
    Most things like this use a version of linux. Not sure though but not MS for sure. You planning on hacking into it?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event