90 degrees: AC help!

I am a college student who just moved into a new apartment.

We lived in the same complex last year and had issues with our A/C freezing over almost weekly in the hot months, leading to electric overages.

We just moved into the new apartment Friday. The next morning i woke up in a bed of sweat. My room was at least 85degrees. The room is on the 5th floor of the complex with high ceilings and a large high window near the ceiling, facing east. It also has an east facing window near the back of my bed that has blinds, there is only 1 small air vent for the whole room. I called the maintenance man and when i asked him how hot he thought it was in the room, he said between 70 and 71 degrees(please note that the thermostat was set to 72, and the current temp was 74 in the house, however my room is noticeably hotter(not warmer) than the rest of the house.) He suggested I stop using a blanket. I basically asked him to install some blinds or something to keep the heat from getting so bad. He agreed and said he would get there monday, but never did. Meanwhile, i went and bought a thermometer to see just how hot my room was getting. Over 2 days i am running average temps of 80 at night, 85 during the day, and 90 in the morning.

After a couple days he finally got back to install some blinds. He hung them over the course of an hour or so. While he was working he was sweating profusely. I offered him a cold beer and he declined. After he was done hanging my blinds, he complained to me that no one over the course of 15 years had ever complained about the heat in the room(he has worked here for 6 months) He kept telling me this, and I told him those people are all suckers and if I am going to be paying 550$ a month I expect an air conditioned room.