Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

oxy/acet or turbo

I need to buy a soldering torch and was wondering what you guys perfer.
    oxy/acet or the air/acet style.
    I have used the air/acet and they are ok, just so freaking loud.

Twilli says oxy ac
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

I can use oxy/acet just fine, but i have been using a turbo torch for the last 20+ years. I have never had a problem. Guess it boils down to what you prefer.
    Not as lean, not as mean, but I'm still a hardcore, ass-kicking, hard charging Marine! Oohrah!

I prefer oxy/acetylene, myself. Turbo torch is ok for soft soldering, but so slow for brazing anything bigger than 7/8". JMHO

I prefer a turbo, but if I only had one [on a tool budget] I would get the ox acet rig. It can do more than a turbo.

oxy/acetylene with a rose bud tip.In and out fast.
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

To apply for professional membership click here

Educational forums are open.

If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here

I like the speed of oxy/acet, but hard to carry around. I love my Turbo it's lite, one tank. I took an old lunch box ( Igloo playtime ) and cut a notch out of lid my tank stands up in it and all my brazing supplies and tube cutters, swaging punches, flux, etc is in it and handy.

Quote Originally Posted by crackertech View Post
    oxy/acetylene with a rose bud tip.In and out fast.
    Yep, and you can have a cutting torch too. I have had several employers REQUIRE an ox/acet rig, although I usually haul the turbo up on the roof.

I have 2 oxy-acetylene rigs in the truck. A small one for everyday work, and a big one, completely disassembled, for the occasional BIG stuff.

I use both. On calls where the customer is crowding in & staring over your shoulder every second, NOTHING beats a Turbo! The only problem is not letting them see you laugh as they cut a trail.