Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    4

    Mini Split system Wiring Question???

    Hello,
    i bought a mini split system and the wiring between the indoor and the outdoor units confuses me. I was going to have a 30A disconnect between the service panel and the outdoor unit. According to the wiring diagram, i need another 20A disconnect between the Indoor and the Outdoor units along a 5A breaker / or a fuse between leads S1 & S2. can someone explain this to me. Thanks!!!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    534
    Where are you located?

    Give more info on unit
    If it doesn't go easy, you are not using a big enough hammer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    4
    Houston, TX. 30.7k BTU. ductless mini split system (Fujitsu) cooling only.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    534




    .
    If it doesn't go easy, you are not using a big enough hammer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    4
    I already have one who is going to install it for me. All the certified techs that i talked to were going to install it without the 20A disconnect and 5A fuse for the control circuit. Not to mention they have no clue how to read electrical schematics. i just wanted to understand it my self this way i don't get hosed like every time by an A/c tech. Thanks for the advice and if you don't know the answer, just keep moving and don't waste your time giving people warnings about pressurized systems and electrical potential hazards.

    MJ

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    534
    Quote Originally Posted by mjebril View Post
    I already have one who is going to install it for me. All the certified techs that i talked to were going to install it without the 20A disconnect and 5A fuse for the control circuit. Not to mention they have no clue how to read electrical schematics. i just wanted to understand it my self this way i don't get hosed like every time by an A/c tech. Thanks for the advice and if you don't know the answer, just keep moving and don't waste your time giving people warnings about pressurized systems and electrical potential hazards.

    MJ

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    4
    Again, reading the electrical schematic was not the problem. 5A for overload (probably control circuit overload protection) and 20A dsiconnect in between. Why all the threads on the internet ignored it and wanted to install without it is the real question?? Thanks anyway.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    534
    Quote Originally Posted by mjebril View Post
    Again, reading the electrical schematic was not the problem. 5A for overload (probably control circuit overload protection) and 20A dsiconnect in between. Why all the threads on the internet ignored it and wanted to install without it is the real question?? Thanks anyway.
    If it doesn't go easy, you are not using a big enough hammer.

  9. #9
    I had the very same question. I called the people that sell these things on
    the internet, and their answer was
    Last edited by beenthere; 08-05-2009 at 05:26 PM. Reason: Removed bad DIY advise

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,773
    Sorry, no DIY advicse allowed.


    Thread closed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event