Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,795

    supco cap t. selection..

    maybe this question should be directed to supco but,

    anybody using supco's cap tubes..

    my question to you,

    aft18c1e-iaa-201 copeland compressor.(extended medium).
    at (-)10* evap it's rated 1610 btuh.

    this is used in a traulsen two door low boy freezer. ULT48-LR.

    traulsen tech support as expectedly can not provide HP information that I would need to size a supco cap tube.

    I ordered the cap tube from the oem since I didn't want to take chance on this fairly new freezer.

    if I were to take a chance I would size it to a 1/2 nominal HP compressor.

    How would you go about it and why.

    (I don't need a bashing for using supco's caps.I know all that...)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    Quote Originally Posted by wannafreeze View Post
    this is used in a traulsen two door low boy freezer. ULT48-LR.traulsen tech support as expectedly can not provide HP information that I would need to size a supco cap tube.
    all you need is the model and they will tell you what size/length cap you need


    I ordered the cap tube from the oem since I didn't want to take chance on this fairly new freezer.
    i used to only use OEM cap tube, got tired of waiting on shipping, now i use the supco caps

    (I don't need a bashing for using supco's caps.I know all that...)
    whats wrong with supco caps


    .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,109
    Since this is a fairly new system as you say, then I would assume that the compressor was still the original. Therefore I would go with the HP rating of the compressor. Then use that HP to size the cap tube along with the temp range and refrigerant type.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil EC
    Posts
    10,391
    Since Copeland doesn't list many of their compressor's nominal horsepower ratings anymore, I look for the Copeland condensing unit where the compressor is used and apply that nominal HP rating to the Supco cap tube charts.

    The AFT18C1E-IAA is used in the M4FL-0051-IAA condensing unit, so I take that as a 1/2 hp low-temp R404A application.

    In this case, the Supco chart then tells me to use 29" of #2.

    I really wish they would publish a chart based on evap temps and Btu/hr.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,795
    Quote Originally Posted by Airmechanical View Post
    .
    I don't know how to quote your words when you post it in that form.

    let me try to remember the points you made.

    yes they did give me the cap tube info,but I only keep supco's numbered cap tubes,I don't think they specify what they are,if they do I never noticed,I will check it..

    as far as selection of cap tubes by horsepower info I didn't think that's a preferable way to do it to say the least.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    49

    supco

    i belive it on the back of the box it comes in or on a piece of paper it the box

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Independence
    Posts
    197
    you can punch that comp number into google and get the specs on it

    http://www.emersonclimate.com/images...06DS-194R1.pdf

    ive found a little difference in what the manufacturer recomends
    and what Supco chart states. Most told me to go with Supco,
    If you want to be cynical about i, They say sometimes the
    Manufactures Size is Designed to Fail. Better for profits, ya know.

    Some say the Supco chart gets real close, sometimes you may
    need to cut off a couple inches if your discharge is running a
    little hot.
    The average person has one testicle, and one ovary.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Independence
    Posts
    197
    and another fella gave me this calculator

    http://www.danfoss.com/United_Kingdo...ils/DanCap.htm

    it uses btu's and temps
    The average person has one testicle, and one ovary.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,865
    I prefer JB cap tubes. They seem to come in standard sizes(I.D.)that I see alot. Supco seems to have the odd sizes. I keep a 100' roll of JB .036 &
    .042 I run into those sizes more than any other. JB also has a descent sizing chart.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    5,512
    Quote Originally Posted by VAV616 View Post
    and another fella gave me this calculator

    http://www.danfoss.com/United_Kingdo...ils/DanCap.htm

    it uses btu's and temps
    Your link is not working.
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

    To apply for professional membership click here


    Educational forums are open.

    If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    State College, PA
    Posts
    1,109

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,499
    Quote Originally Posted by VAV616 View Post
    and another fella gave me this calculator

    http://www.danfoss.com/United_Kingdo...ils/DanCap.htm

    it uses btu's and temps
    Here's a page from the Educational Forums with working link for the Danfoss cap tube program:
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=219602

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event