+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Inexperience Vs Employment

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Likes

Inexperience Vs Employment

I'm the wife of a HVAC/EPA grad from trade school. We were told by his school that they had a 93% post grad employment rate, well, here we are 5 months later, over 222job applications, and not one employer will hire him because of a lack of field experience. We are devastated, he has many transferrable skills and a strong electrical background, is mature and hard working.
    How do we gain employment in the HVAC industry, to gain experience, this is a devastating cycle, any advice would be greatly appreciated. We live in the San Bernardino are, and have applied for jobs state wide,

Post Likes
    1st off, not to be negative, but don't believe that % the school says. When I graduated machinist school, they had a 95% placement ratio. Out of the 20 guys I went to school with, 2 were machinists... go figure.

It's tough to get your foot in the door. Seems like all companies want 15 years experience, but pay for none... same old routine.

I'd say to show up to drop off the resume's, show up 1st thing in the morning, this will show his desire to work and not bum around all day. Just gotta be a bit lucky too.
    "If you call that hard work, a koala’s life would look heroic."

Post Likes
    Twilli says you just received some good advice
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

Post Likes
    When we are looking, we'd love to find a guy that's had trade school. But he starts as an install helper and works his way up. Your area must be really hurting and have a glut of experienced guys.

Post Likes
    I went to a Vo-Tech High School, they told us when we graduated we would make $12-15 an hour (1978), I started my first job at $6.