Thread: Final Decision

Final Decision

I found a contractor I like.

He recommends Goodman because of their warranties. I asked him about Trane and he said if I like, he can install any brand I want. He thinks Goodman will get the job done.

I read a lot of posts here and it seems the installation process and who the contractor is is more important than brand name.

Should I go with Goodman despite the bad reviews or go for a more brand name like Trane/Carrier?

Thanks!

If its the GMV model, its as good as any of the other 2 and 3 stage units as far as furnaces go. But I am just a homeowner.

Quote Originally Posted by bateslabel View Post
    If its the GMV model, its as good as any of the other 2 and 3 stage units as far as furnaces go. But I am just a homeowner.

I'm a contractor that's installed and serviced the latest Goodman equipment and they have nothing that's in the same class as a Bryant Evolution (Carrier Infinity).
    White Bear Township, Minnesota
    www.summitheating.com

Well, the contractor could check the performance ratings of the Goodman he has chosen and the Trane you are interested in and see which is better suited to handle the load his calculations show you have on your home. He could also calculate the pressure drops the air handler needs to over come with your duct system and the blower performance charts would tell him which air handler would be a better solution. Just a thought. The brand isn't really that important to me, but whether the equipment chosen fits the application is.

Why not compare the features of the Goodman to the Trane and then look at the price difference. Are the difference in features worth the cost to you?