Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Tool Policy ( how's it done where you work )

Wasn't sure where to post this question ...so I'll throw it out here.

I'm a senior tech ( no service manager ) at a medium sized mechanical company and I need to get a handle on tools for the people under me. I have worked for a few companys in my time and have seen one extreme to the other.

Extreme 1 - you want for nothing. Recovery machine down to a control screwdriver is provided by the company.

Extreme 2 - you want it you buy it. Wood structure...time to buy a nice angle drill. Precast ...going to need a nice rotary hammer.

I have to say that I am somewhere in the middle...but I also feel that the company is going to need to provide a tool account to front these guys what they need to have. High dollar drills and recovery machines ( and other 400 dollar plus items ) should be on the company's dime IMO...what do you think ?

anything that wont fit in your pouch should be supplied by the company thats how it is where im at and i think thats fair

first off, i work for a union company. they supply us with everything that we need to do the job. that said, i have things on the truck that are mine, more convenience than anything. My buddy who works for the same company has mostly all his own tools even the recovery machine and vacuum pumps, but that is his choice. I agree with the previous poster, hand tools may be provided be employee but everything else should be provided by the company, and insured by the company. Hope this helps

Quote Originally Posted by viessmann View Post
    anything that wont fit in your pouch should be supplied by the company thats how it is where im at and i think thats fair
    I can see that.

Should that include a digital multimeter ? A gauge manifold set...even a basic one ? Cordless drill ?