Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10

    Rheem 18 SEER 2 Stage - Thermostat?

    I had a Rheem 18 SEER 2 Stage AC installed this week. The dealer did not install the Rheem 500 Series Thermostat. I'm just trying to understand why they did not install the Rheem 500. I would like the additional humidity controls the 500 series thermostat provides. However, before I complain I would like to be a little better educated on the subject.

    Is it difficult to install the 500 Series Thermostat? My AHU is in an upstairs closet and the thermostat is on the wall just outside the AHU. Do they need to run a wire from the outside unit to the thermostat which could be difficult?

    Overall, I am happy with the unit and cannot believe how quite it is when only Stage 1 is running which is most of the time.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,378
    It would be more likely that additional wire may be needed from stat to air handler for the dehumidify function. Or he can skip the Rheem/White-Rodgers control and use a Honeywell Vision Pro IAQ that uses 3 wires from wall unit to control at air handler.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    *

    It would be more likely that additional wire may be needed from stat to air handler for the dehumidify function. Or he can skip the Rheem/White-Rodgers control and use a Honeywell Vision Pro IAQ that uses 3 wires from wall unit to control at air handler.
    as far as the 2 speed Rheem communicating system;

    that communicating t-stat requires no extra wire for any type of dehumidification

    the stat does require 4 wires to the airhandler

    outside can get away with 2 wires

    the older non communicating style variable speed air handlers, do use the extra wire for On Demand Dehumidification



    .
    Last edited by Airmechanical; 07-25-2009 at 02:34 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    1,067
    The 500 series thermostat will only work with the RASL-XXX-JEC model condensers. It is a digital serial communicating thermostat and will not work with the RASL-XXX-JEZ series, which you may have (the 500 has only 4 wires for everything). I suspect you have the JEZ condenser. Unless you have the Rheem modulating furnace, you don't need the Rheem 400 or 500 thermostats (if you do have the Rheem modulating furnace, the you must use only the Rheem 400 or 500 series thermostat).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by sktn77a View Post
    The 500 series thermostat will only work with the RASL-XXX-JEC model condensers. It is a digital serial communicating thermostat and will not work with the RASL-XXX-JEZ series, which you may have (the 500 has only 4 wires for everything). I suspect you have the JEZ condenser. Unless you have the Rheem modulating furnace, you don't need the Rheem 400 or 500 thermostats (if you do have the Rheem modulating furnace, the you must use only the Rheem 400 or 500 series thermostat).
    I have a RASL-JEC condenser with the Comfort Control 2 system. I also have the matching AHU. Based on what I have read from the replies, it looks like I need the 500 Series thermostat. I'm ok with that as long as they do not have to start drilling holes in my walls, etc. They installed a White-Rodgers 1F85-275 thermostat. Based on that, can I assume that I already have the necessary wiring in place to take advantage of the Comfort Control 2 system or will they need to add additional wires, etc?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,378
    They cheaped out on you. At least they used a 2 stage stat! Shouldn't need any extra wires for the communicating system.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    1,067
    What thermostat did they quote you? In any event, get the Rheem 500 series thermostat put in - you're running your race car on 87 octane gas!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    They cheaped out on you. At least they used a 2 stage stat! Shouldn't need any extra wires for the communicating system.
    I'll be calling my AC company first thing Monday morning to get the Series 500 thermostat.

    I didn't do my homework. My AC compressor died last weekend on a 12 year old unit - so I rushed to get a new AC. It's hard to survive in South Florida without AC in the summer. I really didn't have time to research and they presented two options a high efficiency unit and a lower efficiency unit. After they showed the prices, net of the government tax credit, the high efficiency unit seemed to be a no brainer. When they put together the package they just listed a thermostat. I asked if it was programmable, they said no, so I insisted that they modify the order to include a programmable thermostat - not knowing that there were better options regarding function. I was only concerned with how many days you could program wanting at least a 5/1/1.

    I really appreciate the education. Other than the thermostat issue - I am very happy with the unit and the AC company did a great job with the installation. I'm just a little disappointed that they did not fully explain my options.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    1,067
    Don't worry, you got a great system, you just need the 501 thermostat. Don't forget to register for the 10 year replacement warranty!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    You would need to know the full model numbers of the Outdoor and indoor units to make sure they are both serial compatable.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by sktn77a View Post
    Don't worry, you got a great system, you just need the 501 thermostat. Don't forget to register for the 10 year replacement warranty!
    I spoke to my installer today. They claimed that I do not need the Rheem Series 500 thermostat as it provides no benefit over what they provided (White-Rodgers 1F85-275). They also stated that the Series 500 thermostats are very sensitive and prone to breaking during power surges. However, they said that they would install the Series 500 thermostat for an additional fee (difference in cost between the two thermostats).

    I called Rheem and they stated that it is common for the dealers not to match my system with a Series 500 thermostat. Although to get the full benefit of the system - you need the Series 500 thermostat. He stated that the technology is relatively new and many dealers do not fully understand it yet. The customer service rep then confused me a bit by stating that I would need additional wiring from the thermostat to the AHU. I thought from what I have read that the Series 500 thermostat is fully functional using your existing wiring.

    I still want to get the Series 500 thermostat as I think that the dealer is just trying to ignore the issue. However, I don't want it if it requires any additional wiring or even worse for the dealer to install the Series 500 thermostat without using the serial communication. Does any of this make sense?

    Thanks

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    1,067
    Quote Originally Posted by asiano View Post
    I spoke to my installer today. They claimed that I do not need the Rheem Series 500 thermostat as it provides no benefit over what they provided (White-Rodgers 1F85-275).
    Well, we all know there are a whole host of features of the 500 series that the 200 series don't have! (error checking, dehumidification, advanced programming...... the list goes on and on).


    Quote Originally Posted by asiano View Post
    I called Rheem............ and they stated that the technology is relatively new and many dealers do not fully understand it yet.
    BINGO! Unfortunately, I've found the only people who know the products are the in-house distributor technical specialists - not the dealer/installers and not Rheem customer service!


    Quote Originally Posted by asiano View Post
    I still want to get the Series 500 thermostat as I think that the dealer is just trying to ignore the issue. However, I don't want it if it requires any additional wiring or even worse for the dealer to install the Series 500 thermostat without using the serial communication. Does any of this make sense?
    If the system is installed correctly, it shouldn't need additional wires. According to the tech specs the thermostat has only 4 connectors (ie for 4 wires). I take it the air handler is their Prestige series communicating model (asI don't think their furnaces have the communicating control boards yet).

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    5

    Response from White-Rodgers

    My name is Tim Burke, Marketing for White-Rodgers the manufacturer of the controls and thermostat you referenced. While we do not manufacture the equipment, we do want to ensure you are satifisfied with the controls we manufacture. If you could send me your contact information and the contractor that installed the system we will be glad to investigate. I can be reached at tim.burke@emerson.com or you may call my office at 314-553-3174

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event