Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: ice machine

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    127

    ice machine

    hello working on an ice machine scotchman prodigy modular cuber model #C0630SA-32A. Initially it was not getting water so, i changed the filter and and cleaned everything up.unit ran and produced ice but it got stuck in the harvest cycle and the diognastic code was "2" harvest cycle max, kept doing this and shortly after it would not even run, diagnostic code was "b" bin full.problem is the bin was empty, i looked all over for a bin stat or sensor could not find anything, thinking maybe the board is bad,help? thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    2,851
    The electronic eyes are the bin full sensors. They also sense ice falling during harvest. If bin full light is on try cleaning each eye so the can see each other.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,361
    Scotsman did away with the eyes on the prodigy. I think they use a curtain sensor now. If thats the case, a bad or misaligned curtain sensor would cause both of those codes.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Oxnard,CA
    Posts
    2
    check the harvest assist assembly. They'll corrode, sieze, and extend the harvest time.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    tennessee
    Posts
    25
    With the bin full light on it will more than likely be the bin sensor. The sensor is mounted on the side of the evap,just like cornelious was. Have had to change a couple of these already.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    The Pas, Manitoba Canada
    Posts
    212
    how does the cube thickness sensor look? cube sensor could trigger a defrost before there's enuff ice to trigger the curtain bin switch and the defrost would max out.

    If it's a 2 wire sensor u can get it to work on 1 wire with a little experimenting.
    Older machines used 2 wire and newer ones use 1 wire. Can't remember which terminal to use on the circuit board(maybe the one on the right if u have a 2 wire cube sensor) but just disconnect both wires and hook up 1 at atime after the machine has made a good sheet of ice. can check the curtain defrost termination/bin switch sensor at the same time.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Phoenix,AZ
    Posts
    2,851
    Quote Originally Posted by craig1 View Post
    Scotsman did away with the eyes on the prodigy. I think they use a curtain sensor now. If thats the case, a bad or misaligned curtain sensor would cause both of those codes.
    Your right, what was i thinking. I have yet to work on one of the new ones. Thank God...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    259
    The Prodigys have a very sensitive PC card that reads sump full when the probes are even the slightest bit dirty. Scotsman wants to change the board if the Prodigy has the older version PC card. You really have to do maintenance on this machine and clean the ice thickness control and water level control separately. Sorry, I don't have the version model to see if you have the older board but 1-800-scotsman can tell you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Haymarket VA
    Posts
    642
    stand pipe lower two turn that will decrease water level and solve your problem, learned hard way last year

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by etheric999 View Post
    hello working on an ice machine scotchman prodigy modular cuber model #C0630SA-32A. Initially it was not getting water so, i changed the filter and and cleaned everything up.unit ran and produced ice but it got stuck in the harvest cycle and the diognastic code was "2" harvest cycle max, kept doing this and shortly after it would not even run, diagnostic code was "b" bin full.problem is the bin was empty, i looked all over for a bin stat or sensor could not find anything, thinking maybe the board is bad,help? thanks
    Clean the water probe and this will help water error. Also, open the curtain and see if the curtain light comes on, believe it is far right light on board (sw1) the curtain switch is mounted on the evaporator side closest to you with 2 wires attached to it. it is a magnetic switch and I have had to replace some already this switch contols both harvest and bin full. Now check thickness probe . Clean it then set approximately 5/16th from dry evaporator as a starting point. The ice bridge should be 1/8th to 3/16th of an inch. Hope this helps.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Winter Haven, FL
    Posts
    4,284
    Dont forget, you are working on a Manitowic type machine. It has to be clean to function properly. Scale will do funny things to the sensors.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NW Florida
    Posts
    707
    Quote Originally Posted by craig1 View Post
    Scotsman did away with the eyes on the prodigy. I think they use a curtain sensor now. If thats the case, a bad or misaligned curtain sensor would cause both of those codes.
    Thank God. Most of the time you where better off replacing eyes than trying to clean mineral deposits off of them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event