Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 20 of 20
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas via Chicago Area via Straight Up from There on Lake Superior
    Posts
    1,411
    Quote Originally Posted by iron View Post
    ...
    never did understand why a company would tie into it but they have
    so if you want those pages ya gots to run em in I.E.
    Market share and development costs. Every change needs to be tweaked and tested for every browser supported. Non-trivial but really kind of short-sighted for companies to do this.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,798
    Quote Originally Posted by zachhvac View Post
    Im so close to going mac i cant see straight, i loathe microsoft.
    I just sold my G5 that I got to get rid of MS out of my life because I could not get my necessary programs to use on it. The new intel processors on the MACs do have programs that are suppose to operate most of the MS crap....oopppps...programs.
    "The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers it can bribe the public with the public's own money.
    - Alexis de Toqueville, 1835

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    977
    Funny you mention IE 8. I just updated Wednesday, through yahoo.

    Everything works just like it used to...except

    I can't get audio to work on some websites, the ones where there's a "play" button.

    Youtube, etc., all work same as before.

    Other quirk is, when I put the cursor over a picture, there used to be a box come up that I could click on the little thingy on the left and it would save it. Now, there is no box with little thingys in it, and I have to right click then save pics.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas via Chicago Area via Straight Up from There on Lake Superior
    Posts
    1,411
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltaT View Post
    I just sold my G5 that I got to get rid of MS out of my life because I could not get my necessary programs to use on it. The new intel processors on the MACs do have programs that are suppose to operate most of the MS crap....oopppps...programs.
    I have been in IT for decades (now retired) and even developed programs in Windows. Finally just got tired of all of the security issues and iffy new versions and switched to an Apple iMac about a year ago.

    Realizing that I had many things that need Windows because either the Mac doesn't have them or the features are different and to minimize the steep learning curve of a new anything, I investigated and bought Parallels Desktop for $79. It's called virtualization software and there are other companies offering similar capabilities. It runs Windows NT and all MS apps after booting the Mac (much faster than Windows) and then launching Parallels with NT. I use it 99% of the time. You can even access Windows files from the Mac with the right settings.

    I will be moving to Mac or alternative apps in the future since apps like TurboTax will not be supporting NT in 2009. I also use Eudora email and have been waiting for a version that will let me convert and save my old emails. Also will probably switch to the Mac version of Mozilla. Some of the Mac versions of MS apps do not support all of the features that the Windows versions have, so investigate. Things like macros which many people don't use but documents from others might have are not supported.

    How ya liking it Delta? But it does sound like you are one of those underground Mac types.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    843
    I run the new firefox client. Ever since i loaded it on the office computers I've had less issues with viruses and malware. Still get some but overall better. Only had a compatibility issue here or there, usually due to lazy design.
    Global Warming or: None like it hot
    No pleasure, no rapture, no exquisite sin greater... than central air. -Dogma

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,798
    Quote Originally Posted by jerryd_2008 View Post
    I have been in IT for decades (now retired) and even developed programs in Windows. Finally just got tired of all of the security issues and iffy new versions and switched to an Apple iMac about a year ago.

    Realizing that I had many things that need Windows because either the Mac doesn't have them or the features are different and to minimize the steep learning curve of a new anything, I investigated and bought Parallels Desktop for $79. It's called virtualization software and there are other companies offering similar capabilities. It runs Windows NT and all MS apps after booting the Mac (much faster than Windows) and then launching Parallels with NT. I use it 99% of the time. You can even access Windows files from the Mac with the right settings.

    I will be moving to Mac or alternative apps in the future since apps like TurboTax will not be supporting NT in 2009. I also use Eudora email and have been waiting for a version that will let me convert and save my old emails. Also will probably switch to the Mac version of Mozilla. Some of the Mac versions of MS apps do not support all of the features that the Windows versions have, so investigate. Things like macros which many people don't use but documents from others might have are not supported.

    How ya liking it Delta? But it does sound like you are one of those underground Mac types.
    My G5 was the version just before the Intel processor so it couldn't run Paralles. I purchased a program called Cross-Over which can do the same, but it wouldn't work on this MAC version. I'm going to advertise it on EBay now that I don't have the MAC anymore.

    In the times I uses this MAC (2.7Ghz, 8GB ram, two drives, etc, etc.) I absolutely loved it. It actually was a machine that I could use without any, and I mean, any problems. Even the programs were so common sense in their operations I couldn't believe it. They cost more because they are worth so much more.

    When I had to start converting back to using my two Dell computers all the crap starting happening again. Fighting and waiting to get them started. Updating this and that, even if I didn't know the updating was taking place. Then getting notifitied that I had to restart my computer.

    Fighting to get to certain programs and certain files.............. on and on.

    Once MAC has the same programs, or better, that I use now...I'm outta here!
    "The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers it can bribe the public with the public's own money.
    - Alexis de Toqueville, 1835

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    1,561
    Quote Originally Posted by iron View Post
    I also prefer Mozilla as my main
    but you gotta have explorer as well because of the programs tied to it.
    For example
    Davenet and partners portal are tied to I.E.
    Graingers is tied to I.E.
    never did understand why a company would tie into it but they have
    so if you want those pages ya gots to run em in I.E.
    Try downloading "IE tab" which is a Foxfire add-on that lets Firefox emulate Internet Explorer:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IE_Tab

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...n/1419#reviews

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event