Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4

    Hmm Blowing fuse about every three days in the heat of the day

    I am working on a heat pump with a scroll and it is blowing the main fuse. I
    replaced the cfm, bfm, comp cap, and contactor that were all in very bad shape. the compressor running amps are good. Lock rotor amps are good when I am there. What am I missing is the compressor getting stuck internally on occasion?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hurst, Texas, United States
    Posts
    108
    Maybe the fuse/breaker is unable to hold the amps when other loads are running while the a.c is on...too many loads on one path...?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4
    That is a good thought, The amps check out its pulling 35 amps at the disconnect and blowing one of them. I put a 45 amp in to see and three days later it blew.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dry as a bone Tucson
    Posts
    4,344

    fuses

    Check your wire size, junction boxes, breaker clamps, and voltage when unit is running. Also sometimes breakers need a break too.No just kidding? Breakers do go bad.
    Some Talk, Some Do
    "keeping condensing pressures low and evaporator pressures high"
    "Some customers are more interested in comfort than energy savings"
    Blog
    Web
    Facebook


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4
    Is it possible after checking all the above that the compressor could have a problem

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4
    I realize its not an everyday thing

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hurst, Texas, United States
    Posts
    108
    well if you put a new cap...it shouldnt be the compressor...like acfixer said check your wire size...ect...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    5,000 ft
    Posts
    2,194
    Is there a TD in the stat or the ODU? If not, might be trying to restart to soon b4 equalizing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    5,000 ft
    Posts
    2,194
    Use your infrared to check for loose/failing connections at fuse holder and line connections.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    call a professional
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Kenilworth New Jersey
    Posts
    230
    Use your infrared to check for loose/failing connections at fuse holder and line connections



    I`m with Steve, there is an overheating connection someplace

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,125
    I agree with Beachtech, call a service tech.

    Sorry, this is not a DIY site. So we are not allowed to give out DIY advise.

    Please read Site Rules Thank you.


    Thread closed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event