Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4

    Hmm Blowing fuse about every three days in the heat of the day

    I am working on a heat pump with a scroll and it is blowing the main fuse. I
    replaced the cfm, bfm, comp cap, and contactor that were all in very bad shape. the compressor running amps are good. Lock rotor amps are good when I am there. What am I missing is the compressor getting stuck internally on occasion?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hurst, Texas, United States
    Posts
    123
    Maybe the fuse/breaker is unable to hold the amps when other loads are running while the a.c is on...too many loads on one path...?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4
    That is a good thought, The amps check out its pulling 35 amps at the disconnect and blowing one of them. I put a 45 amp in to see and three days later it blew.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dry as a bone Tucson
    Posts
    4,544

    fuses

    Check your wire size, junction boxes, breaker clamps, and voltage when unit is running. Also sometimes breakers need a break too.No just kidding? Breakers do go bad.
    Some Talk, Some Do
    Energy efficient and economical to operate are not synonyms
    Blog
    Web
    Facebook


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4
    Is it possible after checking all the above that the compressor could have a problem

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    4
    I realize its not an everyday thing

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Hurst, Texas, United States
    Posts
    123
    well if you put a new cap...it shouldnt be the compressor...like acfixer said check your wire size...ect...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    5,000 ft
    Posts
    2,220
    Is there a TD in the stat or the ODU? If not, might be trying to restart to soon b4 equalizing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    5,000 ft
    Posts
    2,220
    Use your infrared to check for loose/failing connections at fuse holder and line connections.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    call a professional
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Kenilworth New Jersey
    Posts
    230
    Use your infrared to check for loose/failing connections at fuse holder and line connections



    I`m with Steve, there is an overheating connection someplace

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,789
    I agree with Beachtech, call a service tech.

    Sorry, this is not a DIY site. So we are not allowed to give out DIY advise.

    Please read Site Rules Thank you.


    Thread closed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event