Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    92

    Ranco Electronic Temp control

    I have a kayrack with a Ranco ETC ( the multi voltage on). The error code is E2. The intructions I found there said to check the settings I did. I would reset it by turning the power off and it will turn the compressor of about 30 secs and then E2. I did not have anew control on hand but said I'll order one.

    Is there something I am missing here. Or is the controller bad. Thought I had bad wire connection redid some, defrost timer bypassed the same thing. Everything checks out with my meter on them.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Northern NJ
    Posts
    646
    e2 is settings not stored in memory. i had this same problem recently. double check that everything is set, and if so and still continues, replace control.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    1,649
    i had a culvers store with kayrack equipment with the ranco etc stats. so far i have replaced a dozen of them. never the same one twice.

    anyway this store is about 2 yrs. old and the manager finally got kayrack to send him enough to replace all of his in the store, kayrack said that ranco had a few go out the door with the e2 problem. (a few thousand)

    jeep

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    12,077
    I like the johnson controls one better than the ranco.
    People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    5,495
    Quote Originally Posted by Dowadudda View Post
    I like the johnson controls one better than the ranco.
    The cpc one is even better.
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

    To apply for professional membership click here


    Educational forums are open.

    If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    24,947
    I keep 2 Ranco ETC-111000 on the truck. When they go, it seems like they go in bunches. I have replaced 2 and 3 a week, then go a year without replacing a one.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Posts
    1,647
    Dude -

    Error Code E2 = Replace the controller. Memory is shot.

    sorry
    The views and opinions posted here are my own. They do not reflect the corporate policies of my employer and will most likely get me fired at some point.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    wi
    Posts
    282
    I have alot of experience with those stats and those kairaks. I'd replace that darn thing.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Winter Haven, FL
    Posts
    3,599
    You did not use the proper diagnostic tool for that controller
    Use this tool instead

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    92
    A co-worker went back to rplace the control and found the old one working. Don't know for how long. Replace it anyhow

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event