Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: WOP or WOS?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    30

    WOP or WOS?

    Not sure if this is Wall of Pride or Wall of Shame? I put it here because, if anything, it's been functioning for 15 years, though the secondary HX is clogged with rust(said the last tech that was here). Furnace was installed 12/21/95, not sure when the A/C was done.

    It's an Armstrong 45k BTU NG 90% efficient(guessing on that) furnace with an Armstrong High Efficiency A/C.

    Does the install look good?


    What about the duct and lineset?


    The straight pipe on the left side is for furnace, the one to the right is for the NG direct vent HWH. Does this part of the install look good?


    Can anyone tell the SEER and Tonnage from this tag(located on the Condenser)?


    Lastly, this is my neighbors condenser, can anyone identify the brand?


    Thanks,
    Adam

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,903
    That condenser is 2 tons - not sure about the SEER rating. (Most likely 10)

    The install looks average to the untrained eye -
    General public's attitude towards our energy predicament: "I reject the reality of finite resource depletion and substitute it with my own; energy is infinite, we just need an alternative storage medium to run the cars on. The economy can grow indefinitely - we just need to "green" everything! Technology is energy! Peak what?"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,897
    The neighbor's is a very early vintage Goodman.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    170
    What is it with the butt connections on the return drop?
    I see that a lot around here.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northwest IN/Chicago
    Posts
    268
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    The neighbor's is a very early vintage Goodman.
    So that means it was made Circa 1982 then?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    The neighbor's is a very early vintage Goodman.

    Looks like it could use a wire guard for the coil fins. Getting a little beat-up over the years. It's mounted a little close to the structure for ideal air circulation.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,840
    Quote Originally Posted by motoguy128 View Post
    Looks like it could use a wire guard for the coil fins. Getting a little beat-up over the years. It's mounted a little close to the structure for ideal air circulation.
    orginal install been there for years.. you can say they have gotten their money out of it-- they sure don't make stuff like they use too

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by papa_jo View Post
    original install been there for years.. you can say they have gotten their money out of it-- they sure don't make stuff like they use too
    It's kind of funny because she just had the furnace replaced this spring but opted not to have the A/C redone.

    It's doesn't sound like most A/C's. You can't hear the compressor, but the fan sure is noisy.

    Adam

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    Posts
    1,236
    Maybe it came with an 825 and somebody put on a 1075? Where's the fresh air on your furnace?
    I carry a gun because I'm too young to die, and too old to take an ass whoopin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Location:Raleigh NC
    Posts
    9,601
    Quote Originally Posted by motoguy128 View Post
    Looks like it could use a wire guard for the coil fins. Getting a little beat-up over the years. It's mounted a little close to the structure for ideal air circulation.
    I was thinking the same thing
    If you help others then you are a Success

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by duckman373 View Post
    Where's the fresh air on your furnace?
    There isn't one. Not sure why the installers didn't put one in. I thought it was pretty much the standard to have both.

    Adam

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event