Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

13 SEER condensing unit and 10 SEER coil?

I am a general contractor. Recently an HVAC sub was called to replace a condensing unit (1.5 ton) in one of our small homes. He replaced the condensing unit which was a 10 SEER originally with a 13 SEER condensing. I asked if he needed to replace the old "A" coil also, and he said he thought it would work.

When he charged the system, he could not get over about 60. It was just barely cooling. He informed me that it would "probably" need the 13 SEER coil.

I think that he should have known better. He also wants to charge me for 10 pounds of R22.

This feels very upside down to me. First, it seems that he should have replaced the coil before he tried to make it work. Second, with the condensing unit being new, it should have had a freon charge also.

I know that you guys are mostly HVAC pros, but I would appreciate some help, here.

I know carpentry, wiring, plumbing --- but not a lot about HVAC. I questioned him before the installation and asked if he should be putting in a different coil, so should I pay him for the 1- pounds of freon that is probably wasted since he will need to replace the coil, now?

And isn't 10 pounds of freon a lot for a 1.5 ton system? BTW the line set is about 10 feet.

Thanks,
    Bill

Yes, 10 # in a 1.5 ton is nuts. What a maroon! Actually the mismatch should function, just not be efficient, reliable or full capacity. Wonder what else he screwed up?

Probably overcharged the system, the mismatch does work but not recomended, 10 lbs for a 1.5 Ton its too much, even pump down will make the compressor scream in pain. if the indoor coil is plug up and not cleaned overcharging is common suction pressure will be low . yahoos and hackers do not know this so they add and add and then hooohhh sh%^^%T its not cooling properly.
    Last edited by Baja500; 06-27-2009 at 12:41 PM. Reason: correction