Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Bard Geothermal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    121

    Bard Geothermal

    This was originally posted in another thread by Ralphs.


    I have a one year old Bard geo open loop pump and dump 4 ton unit.I am overall satisfied although I expected greater savings [ we're saving 30% -previous system was propane]. Our problem has been that the auxiliary heat [electric resistance] comes on excessively.AS an example,a couple of weeks ago the outside temperature was 63 degrees.The thermostat was set at 64 degrees.When the thermostat called for heat, the aux. heat came on.I turned the thermostat off and then back on, and it called for regular heat.Last winter the unit used aux.heat when outside temp. was as high as 50 degrees.My installer has tried numerous settings of the thermostat to no avail.Any ideas ? Thanks , Ralph

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    121

    T-Stat

    Ralph,

    What thermostat are you using. Please be specific.

    Bergy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11
    It is a Bard,but has no identification other than a upc label.It is the thermostat recommended by Bard.The contractor had installed another brand originally and the aux.heat was coming on about 50% of the time the furnace was running.Bard told the contractor the thermostat was the problem and to install the Bard therm.they would send him.He installed it , and it is much better ,but not right[imho].

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    566
    Any ideas

    For a pump and dump, surprised your installer even installed aux heat. Ask him/her to install a disconnect switch (or circuit breaker). Maybe turn on when it get below -40.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    978
    Simply take a outdoor thermostat switch that only allows auxiliary heat below your choice of set point.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11
    the Bard unit has a breaker for the aux. heat so I can turn it off.However,it does no good,because the thermostat is still calling for aux. heat,but since the breaker is off,there is no aux. heat and the blower goes to max.speed.anyway. It is a system problem that Bard will have to solve,but so far they haven't.I had the installer out a while back,but he said he can do nothing until heating season begins [Nov], so I guess I'm on hold.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event