Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 27
  1. #1

    Johnson Controls HVAC Pro Communications

    Hi all,

    I am new to this software and I seem to be up a crick in a boat with a hole.

    I am trying to use HVAC Pro 8.08 to communicate with an AS-CBLPRO-2. Currently, I am using a Windows 98 laptop with a serial port. My goal is to use a Windows XP laptop without a serial port.

    I have installed HVAC Pro 8.08 successfully on the XP laptop. To connect the AS-CBLPRO-2 to the laptop I first tried to use a USB to Serial adapter. I configured the adapter to use COMM Port 1 in order to be recognized by HVAC Pro. When I tried to communicate between the XP laptop and the AS-CBLPRO-2 using the USB to Serial adapter I recieved a "Communications not initialized" error.

    I then read a post here saying that USB does not play well with HVAC Pro. I then purchased a PCMCIA to Serial adapter. Again, I configured the adapter to use COMM Port 2 to be recognized by HVAC Pro, and again when I tried to communicate between the XP laptop and the AS-CBLPRO-2 using the PCMCIA to Serial adapter I recieved a "Communications not initialized" error.

    I am using 1200 BPS.

    I would appreciate any advice with this issue. Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    128
    there is a patch 8.08b that fix's the problem with XP and USB adapter


    -V-

  3. #3
    Thanks Vortech.

    I called our JC technical support guy. In addition to the patch he stated that I would also need to replace our AS-CBLPRO-2 box (it's white) with a newer box. Aparrently the new box is still an "AS-CBLPRO" however the last digit has changed and the new box is black. If anyone knows what this new black box is called, it would be helpful.

    The JC tech also said that in addition to the USB to Serial adapter, and black box I would need to purchase an "edgeport adapter".

    Again, if anybody could hook me up with some part numbers, that would be great.

    It seems the only way around all of this (still using the white AS-CBLPRO-2) is to get a new laptop with a serial port.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Northeast
    Posts
    128
    I have used the edgeport USB to serial adapter with both the old cblpro and the new black box one, the white one is obsolete and only needed for an LCP?? I think...


    cheers


    -V-

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mid-Atlantic
    Posts
    35
    Don't bother using the cable-pro if you dont need it. Go to blackbox.com and find a device called edgeport-1 made by digi. Then get a rs-232 to 485 converter. balck box also sells them.

    the only thing you cant do with this is set ai offsets in hvacpro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,324
    Try the SSquared box . Has N2 without the need for a power source...
    UA Local 141

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    465
    /www.s2innovations.com
    check it out

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Several Miles from Sane
    Posts
    1,444
    Put the AS-CBLPRO-2 in the storage drawer of your desk. I will never work with WinXP, only Win98 (it's only good for ZTU's, LCP's and old style Palm Pilots now). Get the 8.08b patch. I can email it if you need it. (email in profile) Put your email in your profile, please !

    B&B Electronics sells an RS232 to RS485 port powered device, works Sweet !

    I'll post P/N later, can't remember right this second.( P/N is B&B Electroincs "485SD9TB") costs about 80 bucks and works with the Digi Edgeport/1 previously mentioned.

    If you buy the AS-CVTPRO300-? you get the Edgeport/1 and the JC box but it's gonna set ya back about 4 bills or better.
    Last edited by Cagey57; 06-25-2009 at 09:07 PM. Reason: Part Number
    If sense were so common everyone would have it !

    All opinions expressed are my own. Any advice provided is based on personal experience, generally accepted fact or publicly available information. As such, it is worth exactly what you paid for it, not a penny more not a penny less !!

  9. #9
    Kelly, Blackbelt, berg, Vortech, Dynawiderider:
    I can’t thank you enough for your guidance. I’m in IT so this is all new to me.

    I should have mentioned in my first post that I am only using this laptop for zone bus, not N2. I contacted a sales rep from S2inovations who was extremely helpful. I learned that JC is the only vendor in the universe who sells a USB to Zone bus solution using HVAC pro.

    I’ve priced a CVTPro from JC for just over $500. Now my only question is...

    Do I put the CBLPRO in the storage drawer of my desk and purchase the CVTPro or do I buy a new laptop with a serial port?

    This will be for my company’s engineering dept. so disregarding price, what would better serve the guys who will be using this?

    Your thoughts are appreciated.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Several Miles from Sane
    Posts
    1,444
    The Cablepro ONLY works with WIN98 so my suggestion would be go ahead a pop for the AS-CVTPRO300 it works with both serial (9 pin) ports and USB.

    FYI, to use the CVTPRO with a serial port Laptop you have to buy/build a staright through 9X9 cable.

    Doesn't that suck ! I have tried almost everything but nothing but the CVTPRO work on the Zone Bus that I have found.

    I would also buy the B&B converter, it comes in very handy cause it does not need external power for N2 Bus usage
    If sense were so common everyone would have it !

    All opinions expressed are my own. Any advice provided is based on personal experience, generally accepted fact or publicly available information. As such, it is worth exactly what you paid for it, not a penny more not a penny less !!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    111
    We use the AS-CBLPRO-2 with XP. It works well and we have seen a need to purchase a CVTPO yet.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    chicago
    Posts
    111
    Sorry, I forgot to mention we use the serial port - not USB.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, AB Canada
    Posts
    584
    Quote Originally Posted by berg2666 View Post
    Try the SSquared box . Has N2 without the need for a power source...
    Good day All,

    Also the latest S2USB485 device (since 7/2008) has two additional features that set it apart from any other USB to N2 (RS-485) device:

    1. Robust and sophisticated overvoltage protection on the N2 bus... you can connect the N2 interface to over 24V without issue... which can happen if one is not careful

    2. Built-in N2 bus electrical analysis and diagnoses (shorted or crossed connections, etc) using free software (S2USB485DiagN2) on our website...

    Cheers,

    Sam

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event