Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    HVAC-Calc rocks!

For $39, I was able to do what none of the three contractors who came to my house was able to do: accurately size a replacement furnace. Each asked me for the square footage of the house, and told me what size I "needed." The first said 120k BTU, but later said he had deliberately over-sized it. The other two said 100k.

After carefully measuring and inputting data into HVAC-Calc, I found that my total heat loss, with no upgrades, is 62k BTU. If I add R30 ceiling insulation and insulate the ducts to R4, its only 50k. With R6 duct insulation, its 48k BTU. I'm no expert, but I do think I can use a tape measure with fair accuracy.

So I need a furnace half the capacity of what three experienced HVAC contractors recommended by rule of thumb. Not only did HVAC-Calc give me an accurate size for my present situation, it also let me compare the result after upgrading my insulation.

While I did not get quotes on A/C, the program says I need 1.5 tons before upgrades or 1.0 tons after.

Great program, try it! http://www.hvac-calc.com

Where the contractors relucant to perform the load calculation? Did they charge you for their calculations? It has been stated many times on this web site to go with a dependable experienced company. What brand(s), SEER & AFUE units were they recommending to you? What did you finally decide to do?

None of the contractors mentioned a load calculation. When I discussed my results with the president of the largest company, he said he thought a larger furnace would be better, but he would install one with the BTU capacity indicated by HVAC-Calc.

I'm looking at an 80k BTU 80% 2 stage variable blower furnace, either by Trane or by Ruud/Rheem. This works if I insulate my attic to R30. It's marginal if I don't.

I've decided against A/C at this time. California is short of electricity anyway; and I've survived 21 years in this house without it. We only would turn it on 10-15 days per year, anyway.