Acid wash inside coil???

Hello
    I'm totally new here, just found this site today. I have a climatemaster geo unit that I had installed in my log home up in northern Michigan in 2002. It has been working fine for most all of these years, except last year. It seems that the aux heat has been coming on more often, and the unit seems to rum more frequently. It is a 3.5 ton unit, with a trane high efficiency propane furnace for aux. It is an open loop system. The air seems to be coming out of the registers more cool than usuall. I talked to a guy that installs geo units, and he says that since it has been in about 7 or 8 years now, the inside of the coils might need to be acid flushed. Is that a job that needs to be done?? If so, how often?? Also, can this be done by the home owner, or does it take special equipment, and needs to be done by a professional?? The company that installed the unit went out of business, and there is far and few in-between geo contractors in northern Michigan. This unit went from 1 tank of propane every 3 years to starting last year, 1 tank a year. If this is something that I can do by myself, how does it need to be done. Any help would be appreciated. As I mentioned, I'm new here, and a DO-IT-Yselfer, not afraid to tackle any job. Just need the right info before I get my-self into trouble. Thanks in advance

Yeah I did an open loop setup on my unit about 4 years ago. Then last year mine clogged up completely from rust build-up. I believe the acid they are referring to is Muriatic Acid. It took me an entire day flushing in both directions to get clean water flowing back through my unit. After I got it clean I switched over to closed loop because open is just way too much hassle.