Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20

Thread: Location of TXV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    147

    Location of TXV

    I'm wondering where the TXV is normally installed? I had my new furnace and a/c installed yesterday and realized that I did not see a TXV when I looked over the system after the installer left.

    I called this morning and was told it was installed inside the ductwork with the uncased coil to look cleaner and protect the valve. Is it possible for it to fit there? How much space does it take? From photos of TXV's I can't imagine it can fit inside the plenum.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,795
    Depending on the coil. It fits in very easily.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,228
    most residential TXV's are half the size of your fist or smaller.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    147
    Good to know that it can fit inside. I will take a closer look tonight when I get home. I was a little concerned because I was left all documentation that came with all of the other components I purchased, but did not receive anything for the TXV such as the installation sheets. Also I did not see the actual TXV with the other equipment when it was brought into the house (although I could have missed it due to its small size).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    DFW,TX
    Posts
    2,211
    they can be eithr inside or outside,most newer coils they come installed in the coil from manufacturer but other brands stll leave the option to you so they are field installed by the technician.so yes your is most likely there but you cant see it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,613
    Model # of the coil or at least brand?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    63
    relax, it will be fine it is standard practice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    147
    It's a Goodman CAUF3743C6A uncased coil. I was able to remove the seal around the suction line which left just enough space to look at the lines inside the plenum.

    You ask "What did you see?"

    There was no TXV. The line's factory fitting was right against the plenum sheet metal and no bulb was attached to the suction line.

    I believe it was an honest mistake. I called the contractor (I have always talked with the owner, not the installer) and he talked to the installer to confirm. Somehow it got missed. I believe it was a mistake because I was asking the installer about how a TXV works and what the benefits are early in the day and he said it's good that I'm putting one in after explaining it to me.

    So moral of the story...
    relax, it will be fine it is standard practice
    Not so. A questioning attitude allowed me to find a mistake with my installation that would not have been found if I assumed all techs to be perfect.

    To be fair I was impressed with my tech except for this one screw up which you can consider to be a big one. He took his time to ensure every step was well thought out before completing and communicated very well with his assistant to ensure his assistant did not miss any steps.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    If there was no TXV, then was there any metering device installed at all??? Maybe the tech is used to installing cased coils which usually have the TXV pre-installed form the factory.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    147
    I believe a checkstyle flowrater was installed in the coil at the factory. I believe it was an honest mistake.

    I want to make sure the tech installs the TXV properly and does not need to come back.

    I was told the tech will remove the refrigerant, install the TXV, evacuate the lines, and charge the system. Is anything missing or incorrect?

    My contractor said they may put all of the refrigerant back into the condensing unit so that it is in the same state as a new unit in order for the tech to install the TXV. Can this be done and is it a good idea?

    My understanding is that after the TXV is installed and the system is evacuated, the refrigerant should be release back into the system and it should be setup using subcooling and superheat. Is this correct? Is there any other way to ensure the charge is correct? How can I tell if the tech is doing this part properly? What will they be measuring (which temperatures and pressures) and what should it be set to? Is it normal to have to add or remove refrigerant when installing a new system or is the refrigerant included with the compressor usually adequate?

    Sorry for the number of questions, but I only want the tech to make one visit to correct the problem properly.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,618

    checks?

    What is the model number on your outside unit? Once the freon is pumped into the outside unit, the TXV can be installed, however the tech should still check operation, and subcooling to make sure none was lost. Also make sure they leak check joints around the TXV. If you had a 13 SEER unit installed, the flowrater will deliver 13, but not any higher SEERs.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    147
    Outside unit: 2.5 ton Goodman SSX140301
    Inside coil: CAUF3743D6A

    How should the tech leak check joints around the TXV?

    How does tech check subcooling? Is this what is being done when attaching gauges on the outside unit?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,795
    With a leak detector.

    With guages and thermoprobes.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event