Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    32

    Trane XL15i and VisionPro IAQ

    As I am posting another Tread for advice on this setup you have probably read my previous treads.
    I am going with a Trane XL15i system on an existing Rheem Oil Furnace.
    I was under the impression that the XL15i is a single stage unit, however I am reading post's on the net saying that the HW VP IAQ will control the the humidity on this system better.

    Does the IAQ need to talk to the blower in the furnace to control the humidity?
    If not and there is communication between the IAQ and XL15i, since it is a single stage how can it control the humidity.

    Maybe I am just missing something, but I can choose between the Trane 802 t-stat and IAQ, but for my setup I just thought the IAQ was an overkill for what I have.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Twilight Zone
    Posts
    2,964
    You need a variable speed air handler fan motor for the IAQ to control humidity by slowing down the fan speed during the cooling cycle.

    Does your Rheem oil furnace have a v-s motor?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,097
    I doubt you have a VS blower on your oil funace.

    I also doubt the 15i will meet tax rebate requirements when installed with your oil furnace.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    32
    the oil furnace does not have a variable blower.
    Also I believe there is a tax rebate for split heat pump system

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,097
    Quote Originally Posted by dohcser View Post
    the oil furnace does not have a variable blower.
    Also I believe there is a tax rebate for split heat pump system
    Look at the efficiency requirements it has to meet.
    And then see it you can find a listing for the size 15i your getting. That doesn't need either a VS blower, or a ECM blower.

    I don't think the 15i meets without one of those 2 types of blowers.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Twilight Zone
    Posts
    2,964
    Quote Originally Posted by dohcser View Post
    the oil furnace does not have a variable blower.
    Also I believe there is a tax rebate for split heat pump system
    The split-system heat pump must meet 15 SEER, 12.5 EER, and 8.5 HSPF to qualify.

    The XL15i is not rated with a Rheem oil furnace. It is rated with Trane furnaces. I stated this in one of your previous threads. I also stated that going over 14 SEER would be a waste using your existing oil furnace because you need a matched furnace to obtain the manufacturers ratings.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    32
    Quote Originally Posted by gary_g View Post
    The split-system heat pump must meet 15 SEER, 12.5 EER, and 8.5 HSPF to qualify.

    The XL15i is not rated with a Rheem oil furnace. It is rated with Trane furnaces. I stated this in one of your previous threads. I also stated that going over 14 SEER would be a waste using your existing oil furnace because you need a matched variable speed furnace to obtain the manufacturers ratings.
    You are correct, however I was told by my contractor that Trane sent out a memo asking not to sell the XL14i temporarily as they are having some issues, rather sell the XL15i in its place.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Twilight Zone
    Posts
    2,964
    Quote Originally Posted by dohcser View Post
    You are correct, however I was told by my contractor that Trane sent out a memo asking not to sell the XL14i temporarily as they are having some issues, rather sell the XL15i in its place.
    OK, but it will not meet the Fed Tax Credit with your existing oil furnace.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,097
    I'd ask to see that memo.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Twilight Zone
    Posts
    2,964
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    I'd ask to see that memo.
    The old "fake memo" trick.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,097
    Quote Originally Posted by gary_g View Post
    The old "fake memo" trick.
    Beachie, or some other Trane guy may know for sure.

    But, it sounds a litle convienent to me.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    32
    I just called Trane and they put me on to their local distribution center. I spoke with the tech who stated that they are no longer carrying the XL14i as it is R22 as the new systems are going with the 410 setup.

    Does anyone know if I changed my furnace to the XP80V Trane Oil furnace and XL16i if I can qualify for the tax rebate?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    Quote Originally Posted by dohcser View Post
    You are correct, however I was told by my contractor that Trane sent out a memo asking not to sell the XL14i temporarily as they are having some issues, rather sell the XL15i in its place.
    there is no XL14i hasn't been for at least a year now.

    there is an XR14 no i

    when 13 seer became minumum XL14i was gone the XL14i was one of the units primarily available in 410a, now its just the XL15i, XL16i, and XL20i in the XL line up

    your XL15i will never be what it should be with the existing oil furnace

    and if you buy the new 09 with communitcating stat, i would e-bay the IAQ stat or if you like the contractor can undo the communicating system with a trane KIT and utilize the IAQ stat... but if it where mine i would much rather have the communicating stat
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event