Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Suffering Upstairs

I am not a HVAC professional, but would love some advice on what I can do about my upstairs of my home being too warm. I have a 5 year old home with soffit and ridge vents. I have an AC unit that does a great job on the main floor. I can not get my second story comfortable without "cracking up the AC" which costs a lot of money and makes the main floor too cold. I have spoken to some people about attic fans, whole house fans, second AC units, and "reflective" products.

If anyone can help me enjoy both stories of my home I would be greatly appreciative.

Thanks

Eric

Have a mini split installed upstairs.

Moved into "Residential"

Cool

Look into having your system zoned and make sure your second floor and attic are well insulated.
    Join http://scopeny.org/ Shooter’s Committee on Political Education

The world is full of sheep,try not to join the flock.

Support the Skilled Trades, Don't DIY

You need to have your system looked at by a competent mechanical contractor.

Is the a/c the right size for the home?
    Is the duct the correct size and the lay out correct?
    Are there dampers closed off, smashed duct etc?

Once these questions have been answered, then you can get estimates on solving your problem.

Its always going to be hotter on the second floor with one forced air system. The only way to even things out is to either zone it with damper motors and a zone board or add a second system.
    Behind the ostensible government sits enthroned an invisible government owing no allegiance and acknowledging no responsibility to the people.

Theodore Roosevelt

Zoning is the only answer.
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

... any chance you can close off the upstairs level so the cold air doesn't flow down the stairs?
    aside from this, zoning is the best.