Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Woodstock, GA
    Posts
    11

    R-410A Coolant Line Sizing

    We are getting quotes to replace our 23 year old upstairs AC and furnace. We are being quoted different brands but they are pretty much:

    2 ton 15 SEER dual fuel system with 80% efficiency furnace with variable speed drive.

    We are in the Atlanta area and the unit is upstairs so the 80% furnace should be fine as we don't expect it to fire very often.

    My question is on the coolant lines. Some contractors say our current lines are fine and others say we need to replace them with larger lines.

    Current lines are 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch I believe. Quotes that say to replace them have us putting in 3/4 inch and 3/8 inch lines.

    Are the new larger lines necessary? The old lines are fine as far as condition goes, the quoted need is all about the size.

    Ryles

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    658
    how long is the current line??? if its very short you might be ok, but all manufacturers give recommended line sizes.

    if it was mine i would put in the new lines!!
    You're only as good as your customer will allow you to be.........If they want junk, sell them junk, but make your junk look neat!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Woodstock, GA
    Posts
    11

    Line Length

    The current line runs from the attic to the first floor and then about half the length of the house. So probably 20 feet down and then about 25 feet over. Say 50 feet total.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    dayton ohio
    Posts
    25
    it needs replaced being that long especially with the use of r 410.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    Quote Originally Posted by dmaxbury1 View Post
    it needs replaced being that long especially with the use of r 410.
    no it doesn't

    inles you like ugly lines running down the side of your house
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    that vapor line maybe too small... but i have seen many 410A systems that have that liquid line acceptable for that length in that size
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    Ask those contractors what size line set the install manual says to use.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Woodstock, GA
    Posts
    11
    I will ask for the specs. FYI the contractor that says "replace them" is quoting a Lennox system and the one that didn't is quoting an Amana.

    Either way there won't be lines runnning down the side of the house. Lines drop through an easily accesible chase to the basement garage and then out the side/end of the house.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    658
    the recommended line size for the lennox is 3/4 and 3/8.

    do the right thing and have the right lines put in.
    You're only as good as your customer will allow you to be.........If they want junk, sell them junk, but make your junk look neat!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    298
    I am a 30 yr tech in the A/C field but due to mobility problems ive been out of the loop for about 5 yrs now. Now i take care of a 296 apartment complex with electric carrier 1.5 ton to 2 ton systems, all are r-22 and refrig lines are from 1/4 liq line to 5/8 suction and the longest line sets are around 40 to 50 ft. Now the unit's evap coils are 25 to 30 years old, if you are able to keep the line sets that are there what about the coil's? Knowing they will need TXV's on them.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    Some what foolish to try and reuse 25 to 30 year old evaps over. Change them out too, but you can reuse the line sets.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    298
    Thanks for the info on this, I did plan on replacing all evap coils just was not sure about the line set's.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,337
    I think some little Choo Choos call for 1/4 x 1/2" lines but probably not many will approve of them. Rheem doesn't mind 1/4" liquid line but not the 1/2. Goodman/Amana I've heard is OK with 1/4" too on small unit but again that 1/2. I'd rather have the right size lines running down my house in line-hide than hack onto the wrong sized lines. May work but undersized lines could be turning that pricey 15 SEER into a 12 SEER or something.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event