Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Winter Haven, FL
    Posts
    4,272

    Unhappy Phoenix multi-meters

    Has anyone had problems with the Phoenix series meters from UEI ?
    I like the meter, especially with the light on it and the magnet in the back.
    The problem I have is that they only seem to last just a little over a year. I bought my first one in 2006. My third one started dying last week. They have all had the same problem. The continuity function stays beeping when you turn it on and the capatiance readings are not anywhere near correct, dc voltage doesnt work at all. This has happend on all three meters...Anyone else have the same experience?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    one would think that after that many failures to stop buying that brand

    i have never used one, and have had great service out of my fieldpiece meters that have the magnet on the back the HS36 that is. the SC77 has been a good one as well.

    soon the fluke parade will arrive since you asked about a meter
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    maui
    Posts
    389
    sounds like the battery

    I have never owned one but my buddy has had a few and not been to thrilled about them. I asked him why he doesn't buy fluke and he said they are to pricey, so i told him to add up the price on all the cheap sh!t he buys and of course it comes out more than just buying the best or good one the first time

    I bought an ideal meter about 6 years ago and it didn't last a summer ever since than I have had fluke and never had a problem with any of them and i have several
    What cant be done correctly shouldn't be done at all

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    190
    everyone I work with uses UEi mainly becuase thats all thats carried in the local supply houses. Ive owned one in 3 years and have never had a problem neither have the others..It wasnt until I came on these forums that I found that everyone has had a bunch of problems with them. I also have the c125 combustion analyzer and that works great too. Maybe I got lucky
    "Continuous effort - not strength or intelligence - is the key to unlocking our potential"

    Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NW IL.
    Posts
    3,935
    Quote Originally Posted by Tie Strap View Post
    everyone I work with uses UEi mainly becuase thats all thats carried in the local supply houses. Ive owned one in 3 years and have never had a problem neither have the others..It wasnt until I came on these forums that I found that everyone has had a bunch of problems with them. I also have the c125 combustion analyzer and that works great too. Maybe I got lucky
    If your supply house doesn't carry what you want tell them to order what you want not what they want to sell, or order or buy elsewhere.
    Aircraft Mechanical Accessories Technician. The Air Force changed the job title to Air Craft Environmental Systems Technician. But I've decided I'll always be a Mech Acc.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    190
    I've been buying online because of the selections and prices. Places around here want your money and first born.
    "Continuous effort - not strength or intelligence - is the key to unlocking our potential"

    Winston Churchill

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Several Miles from Sane
    Posts
    1,457
    I carried a DM383 for over 8 years, a 16' drop onto concrete hosed the display (I wonder why ?). Nobody carried the UEI's in town so I bought a TPI that looked identical. Used it for 6 years until the day it read 597 VAC on a 480 contactor. It became trash that day. I had great luck with the UEI.

    The new DM383whatever with the goodies has a 5 year warranty. If anyone had handled them where I trade I might not have bought my Fluke 115.

    Buy what you like, you're the one that has to use it !

    I like my fluke though. But it cost double what a UEI's would, maybe the jokes on me !
    If sense were so common everyone would have it !

    All opinions expressed are my own. Any advice provided is based on personal experience, generally accepted fact or publicly available information. As such, it is worth exactly what you paid for it, not a penny more not a penny less !!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,990
    ok ill start that fluke parade as beachy stated....

    i had the first gen. pheonix and liked it a lot. Then again, i still have it, however, it sits in the truck.

    so i bought one of the second generations and had problems (389) then got another over the counter and had problems again. So after talking to the good guys at Johnstone i got a full refund for the price (they had to get approval from UEI) My buddy also had issues with his 389.

    I will say cust. support is great out of UEI. Called them a couple times and the were very helpful.

    so then i bought a Fluke and the quality when you hold it in your hand is great.
    i own the 902 and 179 and have had very good luck with them.

    Good luck with you purchase.

    on another note. not saying anything bad but i was never a fan of the fieldpiece. I have purchased an Extech Megohmeter. For the price it works well but im still not crazy over it like i am the Fluke. However, It does get the job done.
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anytown USA
    Posts
    2,055
    I have the uei dl389. Its my first uei meter and I like it a lot. I have owned the fluke 902 in the past and returned it due to the temperature readings being off and the microamp has a slow response time, and the ohm rating only goes to 9999.Neither of them have the milliamp function, so I still have to use my other meters for that range..

    For the price, the uei 389 is a great all around meter.. If there is something i dont trust about it, i have multiple more expensive higher quality meters I can use for backup, but so far I havnt had to do that.. The UEI just took a 15-17 foot fall a month back, still works like a champ...

    The only thing I dont like about the UEI is the cheap test leads and temperature probe they send with the meter.. For the money, I guess i cant complain too much, since the meter is good...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Winter Haven, FL
    Posts
    4,272
    I had just terrible luck with fieldpiece meters. Two came back across the counter in within the first month that I purchased them. Took the store credit and took the dl279. I seem to have a certian knack for buying defective equipment (circuit city cut me off years ago). I thought about this today while digging through the tool bag. I use this meter on most, if not all of my calls. If I run 1200-1400 calls a year, the meter costs .01 cents per call. So now im going to pick up a penny in every parking lot and get a free meter.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    CHICAGO IL.
    Posts
    79
    I have had bad luck with the phoenix meter, so i went out an bought a fluke 902. I also noticed that the temp readings are a little off, but other than that its a good meter. The best part about the phoenix is the magnet.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    1,025
    used one for awhile, HORRIBLE

    fluke or bust

    i have the 902 and love it, it dont read capicatence to save your life (always 40mfd or more off) but who needs that anyway :P

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Winter Haven, FL
    Posts
    4,272
    So this great fluke meter doesnt read temps or capaicatence accurately ???
    Why am i paying money for this??

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event