Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 50
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    1,586

    testo digi-cool data logging

    I'm going to go digital... I was wondering if anyone uses or sees any value in a feature that logs the readings and then lets you print them out or save them to a computer. I think the Testo 560 does it, not sure which other does it. It's a feature that looks pretty cool but in the real world may be more of a pita than a benefit. Anyone have any comments?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Location:Raleigh NC
    Posts
    9,644
    I thought of that same thing.

    As far as testo or DigiCool in Field application I Say Digi. It takes a beating better lager display. and the Bar graph. and You can change manifold.
    JMHO
    If you help others then you are a Success

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    20141
    Posts
    1,153
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yqGAMurcfTQ

    need I say more?

    I had the pleasure of speaking with Doug Lockhart, the brains behind digi-cool and he was telling me a story about a tech who has a set of digi-cools who was working on a RTU or something and he spun around and knocked his manifold off the roof and down 2 stories. The only damage was a broken display (which can be swapped out).

    That brings up another point. Field servicability. A quick search on youtube will show you how easily servicable the digi-cools are. I've seen the guts of mine and while I can't speak for the testos I can tell you the digi-cools are built to take a beating, they're not afraid of a little water either (though I don't suggest submersion) All wiring connections have snap lock connectors.

    Check out the website in my signature, to see the full potential of the digi-cool's. They're much more than just a manifold, they're an analyzer in every sense of the word.
    I am the Stig

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    the software used by testo is a PITA!!! and i am not saying that because i think its a PITA. quite a few of the people i have talked to hate it as well.
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    565
    I thought i had made my mind on going with testo but just saw a video that they dont measure in Hg, it show negitive PSI

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,416
    Quote Originally Posted by beachtech View Post
    the software used by testo is a PITA!!! and i am not saying that because i think its a PITA. quite a few of the people i have talked to hate it as well.

    Yup, its a PITA. I agree.
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Location:Raleigh NC
    Posts
    9,644
    Quote Originally Posted by jvillehvac View Post
    I thought i had made my mind on going with testo but just saw a video that they dont measure in Hg, it show negitive PSI

    You'll be much happier with DigiCool. Not slamming Testo JMHO
    If you help others then you are a Success

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Akron
    Posts
    1,170
    You guys apparently have not used the new 560 nor software, as it has changed and is very easy to use and very powerful. It operates in real-time and has a lot of cool features. The older version was a PITA, but it was still better than what anyone else had. The new only works with the new 556 and 560. When it comes to data logging no one can compete.
    Attached Images Attached Images       
    JLB,

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Akron
    Posts
    1,170
    higher resolution
    Attached Images Attached Images     
    JLB,

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    1,586
    Jim,

    I guess what I'm getting at is this example. You have a contract with light commercial systems, like the job I was on today has 19 split systems plus a little air cooled chiller. I put my gauges on each one and fill out a log sheet. I was wondering if a meter like the 560 could just capture the refrigeration readings. I guess you still have to manually write down the amperages, maybe fill in an oil level circle. So on one side I think wow, that would save a lot of writing, then again I think, well you'd probably be writing anyway and then you have to go print it out.

    Anyway...I'm thinking digi-cool is the way to go. I have a nice 4 valve imperial I bought for 410A and as others have posted, the r-22 scale becomes sort of useless on a 410 gauge. so rather than another manifold, I may as well step up in the world!

    Thanks all for the reply's....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Akron
    Posts
    1,170
    The 556, 560, and the 523 can all print out the results via wireless printer. We are also working with a partner to develop a utility to troubleshoot and capture data via a palm. It is being used by about 50+ 556 users right now. The data is delivered to the palm through IR capture, airflow is measured and put in by hand. This is a small sampling of the screen shots of the utility.
    Attached Images Attached Images      
    JLB,

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    it has changed recently then, cause the 560's i used was just last summer. is that a free update to the older 560's?
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Waffleville
    Posts
    10,339
    Quote Originally Posted by jim bergmann View Post
    You guys apparently have not used the new 560 nor software, as it has changed and is very easy to use and very powerful. It operates in real-time and has a lot of cool features. The older version was a PITA, but it was still better than what anyone else had. The new only works with the new 556 and 560. When it comes to data logging no one can compete.
    i agree with that statement
    If Guns Kill People, Do Pencils Misspell Words?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An2a1...eature=related

    Before we work on artificial intelligence why don't we do something about natural stupidity?

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event