Need new gas furnace & A/C
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1

    Need new gas furnace & A/C

    Hello everyone,
    Im looking for some help... Im looking to replace my old gas furnace and A/C with a new, more efficient system. I live in a 3 story townhouse. The bottom level is where the furnace is and it used to be a basement that we have finished off. That level stays relatively cool throughout the year no matter what the temperature is. Last year during the summer my A/C would not cool the second or third level below 75 degrees. This year when we started it we couldn't get it below 80 degrees and it was only 85 degrees outside.

    I had a local company come out to quote me on a new system and I thought it was ridiculous in price... They wanted over $ for a Goodman 13 SEER A/C and 95% furnace without the variable speed fan, which I would like to have.

    Basically Im looking for some advice on what size furnace and A/C I should be looking at, Im thinking of doing the project myself or having a tech install. Any feedback will be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Chris
    Last edited by beenthere; 05-03-2009 at 07:36 PM. Reason: Removed price.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,923
    This may not be the site for you;
    Residential HVAC Questions and discussions pertaining to HVAC for the home. No pricing, no DIY, please read Site RulesRegister
    We can try to help you have an HVAC pro resolve your issues, but we would need a lot more information to do so.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  3. #3
    Sorry... Could you just point me in the right direction on size furnace & A/C I would need?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,367
    A skilled professional would have to do a load calculation to determine that for you. Unless they go by your previous size equipment.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,621
    A load calc would tell a contractor that.

    Or, you can pay the fee, and do your own load calc

    You should pay a visit to the Wall of Shame Forum .

    And see what a low price got many customers.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    167
    "I thought it was ridiculous in price..."

    oh man that's ridiculous

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,367
    Quote Originally Posted by fenian View Post
    "I thought it was ridiculous in price..."

    oh man that's ridiculous
    If you saw the price before it was removed, you'd think so too if it was your money.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,621
    I didn't think it was.

    And I saw the price before it was removed.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,367
    Well Been, if you were quoting me your YZE048 I wouldn't think so, but for a 13 SEER non-variable speed Goodman in an otherwise straight-forward replacement? I thought it was a little high, but that doesn't matter. Maybe I'm just used to seeing Lennox or Trane next to a pricetag like that.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    690
    Guys its a 3 story townhome you don`t know what size he needs!?!?

    lol
    Sorry - yesterday was the deadline for all complaints.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    DC Metro Area (MD)
    Posts
    3,367
    Quote Originally Posted by praha99 View Post
    Guys its a 3 story townhome you don`t know what size he needs!?!?

    lol
    Maybe two 5 tons.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,621
    Quote Originally Posted by RyanHughes View Post
    Well Been, if you were quoting me your YZE048 I wouldn't think so, but for a 13 SEER non-variable speed Goodman in an otherwise straight-forward replacement? I thought it was a little high, but that doesn't matter. Maybe I'm just used to seeing Lennox or Trane next to a pricetag like that.
    Since you weren't there to see the job.
    You don't know wha size.
    Or how hard the swap out is.

    Thats why we don't talk prices here.

    Someone may mislead a poster with unfounded comments.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    2,246

    I Not Jumping On Anyone

    But how can we tell if something is over priced, under priced maybe. Our company gets flack sometimes for being pricey but I don't get customers phoning me back saying why didn't you not do this or that. I do detail everything on proposal, but customers like to twist words once in awhile. I also stand behind my work, where as some jobs I bid on and lose, they have phoned me back to ask if I would come fix it (not a chance) and yes that might be my loss for future customer, but it is one I can live with.
    Do it right the first time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event