Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Advice - AC Coil extending past plenum

Hi,

This week I had my new furnace and AC installed.

I have a concern that the AC coil extends 5.5" from the plenum.

I know that was an issue with my previous system and am having a hard time seeing how I am getting full benefit of the AC with a portion of it extended from the air flow.

I am by no means a HVAC expert, so if this is normal and there is no impact to the system cooling efficiency then I am fine. However, if there is an impact do I need to look at a bigger plenum?

My preference is to have the system running at it's peak and not hampered in any way.

I'm hoping that the pros here will let me know what their recommendations are and why.

Thanks,

Dolfan

A picture would be most helpful.

Quote Originally Posted by nvr2old View Post
    A picture would be most helpful.
    Yes. We don't know if the OP is talking about a horizontal unit in the attic, or an upflow unit in a hall closet, or one or the other in a basement/crawl space.

Generally speaking, it is best to not intentionally blank off a section of cooling coil, as some installations do. This is what transitions are for should the coil be larger than the air handler or furnace dimensions.
    • Electricity makes refrigeration happen.
    • Refrigeration makes the HVAC psychrometric process happen.
    • HVAC pyschrometrics is what makes indoor human comfort happen...IF the ducts AND the building envelope cooperate.

A building is NOT beautiful unless it is also comfortable.

Do you mean the AC coil box is wider than the plenum? If so, that's OK, you just don't want a coil box that is narrower than the plenum or furnace as that would cut air flow down significantly.

Need pics
    A good HVAC tech knows how, an educated HVAC tech knows why!

DEM

This has become a problem with the higher SEER coils & lack of room, etc. to make proper retro adjustments.