Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    976
    Post Likes

    Hmm TRANE VARITRAC PROBLEM

    Have a one zone of 11 that is always too cold. tried to adjust program to enable thumb wheel through hyper terminal dial in. I am able to get in under the UCM setup but can not make changes? Can I add re-heat to this zone in question? How can I enable the thumbwheel operation?

    VARITRACT IS X13650529-01 SERIAL IS E98M
    Good Service isn't a commodity.

    Any sale starts with a simple premise "how can you solve the problem better than everyone else"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    188
    Post Likes
    Well as I do from time to time I go through posts that have not been answered so I wil answer this old question although it has most likely been resolved.

    In a VariTrac you need to make your changes through the Rover Service Tool. There you can modify the Size/Type/ReHeats/Thumbwheel Enable-Disable/Default (Comm Loss) Setpoints/ Etc.

    You will not be able to make these changes from the actual VariTrac command line interface.

    Hope this helps...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Where it's dark & damp
    Posts
    612
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Webbyz View Post
    Well as I do from time to time I go through posts that have not been answered so I wil answer this old question although it has most likely been resolved.

    In a VariTrac you need to make your changes through the Rover Service Tool. There you can modify the Size/Type/ReHeats/Thumbwheel Enable-Disable/Default (Comm Loss) Setpoints/ Etc.

    You will not be able to make these changes from the actual VariTrac command line interface.

    Hope this helps...
    You are mistaken

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,191
    Post Likes
    Its been a while but I have made the changes that you speak of long before I had Rover.
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    188
    Post Likes
    From the CLI?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Where it's dark & damp
    Posts
    612
    Post Likes
    Yes, from the CLI. I don't know what an X######## number is but when he says vartic and is talking about using hyper terminal I assume he is talking about a CCP. You can do every facet of a vav configuration and balancing from it with commands.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    188
    Post Likes
    Hmm, I guess I never got too deep into it. I will have to take a gander at that when I get in the office. I stand corrected. Thanks for the info Willf

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion
    Posts
    1,210
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by hvacdoctor View Post
    Have a one zone of 11 that is always too cold. tried to adjust program to enable thumb wheel through hyper terminal dial in. I am able to get in under the UCM setup but can not make changes? Can I add re-heat to this zone in question? How can I enable the thumbwheel operation?

    VARITRACT IS X13650529-01 SERIAL IS E98M
    Its there..Look harder. Go through the menu's you'll see it..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    285
    Post Likes
    It is in the hyperterminal access. If I remember right you want 1S for Ucm Menu then if you device is say 2 you would go 2S to take you to device 2 setup then I believe 6 is the selection for thunwheel just enable it. Type of heat is I believe 3 or something to choose.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    188
    Post Likes
    Yeah and seeing that the VariTrac was probably around before the advent of Rover I should have known there was a different way.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    central new york
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    When using hyperterminal to access Varitrac do the following:
    Always have caps lock on
    + and - are used to change binary settings - ex. Thumbwheel enable - + is yes and - is no
    Number changes are made at the line, on setpoints you need to change the cooling setpoint 1st and then the heat
    Type the following to move around
    N = next line
    P= previous line
    M = back a menu, you can add numbers to back more than 1 menu ex. 2m or 3m. 9m will take you back to the main menu
    R = refresh
    If you can't make a change you are probably in a status menu.
    Sometimes you have to go to the last line in a menu to make the change with a + or -.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,282
    Post Likes
    yep dont forget the Caps lock

    I can remember myself and others forgetting this needed step and asking "what the freak" is wrong with this stupid thing

    Glad them days are over

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    976
    Post Likes
    Thanks Fellas! Its been a while since I worked on Trane's older stuff and unless you make changes and check regularly you forget it!
    Good Service isn't a commodity.

    Any sale starts with a simple premise "how can you solve the problem better than everyone else"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards