Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    957

    Hmm TRANE VARITRAC PROBLEM

    Have a one zone of 11 that is always too cold. tried to adjust program to enable thumb wheel through hyper terminal dial in. I am able to get in under the UCM setup but can not make changes? Can I add re-heat to this zone in question? How can I enable the thumbwheel operation?

    VARITRACT IS X13650529-01 SERIAL IS E98M
    An astronaut stuck in space was asked by a reporter, "How do you feel?"
    "How would you feel," the astronaut replied, "if you were stuck here, on top of 20,000 parts each one supplied by the lowest bidder?"

    "do it right or do it twice"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    184
    Well as I do from time to time I go through posts that have not been answered so I wil answer this old question although it has most likely been resolved.

    In a VariTrac you need to make your changes through the Rover Service Tool. There you can modify the Size/Type/ReHeats/Thumbwheel Enable-Disable/Default (Comm Loss) Setpoints/ Etc.

    You will not be able to make these changes from the actual VariTrac command line interface.

    Hope this helps...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Where it's dark & damp
    Posts
    609
    Quote Originally Posted by Webbyz View Post
    Well as I do from time to time I go through posts that have not been answered so I wil answer this old question although it has most likely been resolved.

    In a VariTrac you need to make your changes through the Rover Service Tool. There you can modify the Size/Type/ReHeats/Thumbwheel Enable-Disable/Default (Comm Loss) Setpoints/ Etc.

    You will not be able to make these changes from the actual VariTrac command line interface.

    Hope this helps...
    You are mistaken

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,143
    Its been a while but I have made the changes that you speak of long before I had Rover.
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    184
    From the CLI?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Where it's dark & damp
    Posts
    609
    Yes, from the CLI. I don't know what an X######## number is but when he says vartic and is talking about using hyper terminal I assume he is talking about a CCP. You can do every facet of a vav configuration and balancing from it with commands.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    184
    Hmm, I guess I never got too deep into it. I will have to take a gander at that when I get in the office. I stand corrected. Thanks for the info Willf

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    State of Confusion
    Posts
    1,210
    Quote Originally Posted by hvacdoctor View Post
    Have a one zone of 11 that is always too cold. tried to adjust program to enable thumb wheel through hyper terminal dial in. I am able to get in under the UCM setup but can not make changes? Can I add re-heat to this zone in question? How can I enable the thumbwheel operation?

    VARITRACT IS X13650529-01 SERIAL IS E98M
    Its there..Look harder. Go through the menu's you'll see it..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    285
    It is in the hyperterminal access. If I remember right you want 1S for Ucm Menu then if you device is say 2 you would go 2S to take you to device 2 setup then I believe 6 is the selection for thunwheel just enable it. Type of heat is I believe 3 or something to choose.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    184
    Yeah and seeing that the VariTrac was probably around before the advent of Rover I should have known there was a different way.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    central new york
    Posts
    16
    When using hyperterminal to access Varitrac do the following:
    Always have caps lock on
    + and - are used to change binary settings - ex. Thumbwheel enable - + is yes and - is no
    Number changes are made at the line, on setpoints you need to change the cooling setpoint 1st and then the heat
    Type the following to move around
    N = next line
    P= previous line
    M = back a menu, you can add numbers to back more than 1 menu ex. 2m or 3m. 9m will take you back to the main menu
    R = refresh
    If you can't make a change you are probably in a status menu.
    Sometimes you have to go to the last line in a menu to make the change with a + or -.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Mount Airy, MD
    Posts
    7,281
    yep dont forget the Caps lock

    I can remember myself and others forgetting this needed step and asking "what the freak" is wrong with this stupid thing

    Glad them days are over

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    957
    Thanks Fellas! Its been a while since I worked on Trane's older stuff and unless you make changes and check regularly you forget it!
    An astronaut stuck in space was asked by a reporter, "How do you feel?"
    "How would you feel," the astronaut replied, "if you were stuck here, on top of 20,000 parts each one supplied by the lowest bidder?"

    "do it right or do it twice"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event