Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 19

Thread: NAE Database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157

    NAE Database

    I am having problems uploading the NAE database. I keep getting "communication error 521." I have found the pdf that describes what that error is but I still can get it to work. Anyone have any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    51
    Version of NAE?
    Version of SCT?
    Version of JRE on your pc?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Check the name of the NAE and make sure it matches with your NAE name in the SCT archive. Also the IP address and the date and time must match between the NAE and the computer you are runninng SCT on. You can update the time and date wiht the NAE information and configuration tool.

    Clear JRE cache and IE files.


    SCT Version must be same as NAE..


    I have never had to take it farther then NAE name, time and date matching before the archive worked.
    UA Local 141

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    how do i get the NAE version to match the SCT version? Do i have to use the NAE/NIE update tool? I also do not have the NAE version in my SCT manager.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Loook at see what your NAE version is" Help, about " and then make sure you have the same version of SCT.
    UA Local 141

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by the maestro View Post
    how do i get the NAE version to match the SCT version? Do i have to use the NAE/NIE update tool? I also do not have the NAE version in my SCT manager.
    You can use the NUT to bring the NAE to your SCT version if you do not have the SCT version needed. But it is easirt to install the SCT then NUT. CAn you add the version? IS it an odler version then what you have in your SCT manager?
    UA Local 141

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by berg2666 View Post
    Check the name of the NAE and make sure it matches with your NAE name in the SCT archive. Also the IP address and the date and time must match between the NAE and the computer you are runninng SCT on. You can update the time and date wiht the NAE information and configuration tool.

    Clear JRE cache and IE files.


    SCT Version must be same as NAE..


    I have never had to take it farther then NAE name, time and date matching before the archive worked.
    Maestro, The version of the SCT does not have to match the NAE version to upload a database. The SCT must be a higher or equal version to the NAE. I would be careful to make sure that a copy of the database was available before I performed a NUT on the NAE. Performing a NUT on an NAE deletes the database. Good Luck!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    157
    The SCT version only has to be higher or equal than the NAE? Can anyone confirm this?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by the maestro View Post
    The SCT version only has to be higher or equal than the NAE? Can anyone confirm this?
    It is true but to view the archive but unless you are at the same revision you cannot edit, but I have never tried to edit one that is of another revision, I just always used the same revision.
    UA Local 141

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Taxachuesetts
    Posts
    198
    Quote Originally Posted by the maestro View Post
    The SCT version only has to be higher or equal than the NAE? Can anyone confirm this?
    Recently uploaded a 1.2 rev NAE into a 4.0 SCT with no problems. If you are going to nut the NAE make sure you use the ethernet switches approved by JC, or it won't work.

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by krac View Post
    If you are going to nut the NAE make sure you use the ethernet switches approved by JC, or it won't work.
    "approved" means the ability to force them to 10 MBPS if necessary for it to work.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    116
    It is highly recommended that you upload your NAE with the proper version of SCT, then perform the upgrade to the database. There are instances, epecially when going to release 4.0/1 due to the change of not requiring a BACNET integration on the fieldbus for thirdparty devices (TEC's in particular) of databases being corrupted by not following the documented upgrade procedure.

    If you have BACNET TEC's don't do it, or you are in for a lot of re-mapping!

  13. #13

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by canadian_jci_guy View Post
    It is highly recommended that you upload your NAE with the proper version of SCT, then perform the upgrade to the database. There are instances, epecially when going to release 4.0/1 due to the change of not requiring a BACNET integration on the fieldbus for thirdparty devices (TEC's in particular) of databases being corrupted by not following the documented upgrade procedure.

    If you have BACNET TEC's don't do it, or you are in for a lot of re-mapping!

    I'm sorry to disagree with you but I respectfully disagree. When the database is uploaded from the NAE to a more recent version of the SCT tool; the database is upgraded on the way up. Meaning your upload is ready to download to the NAE. All that needs to be done at that point is to NUT the NAE and give it the correct name, IP address, mask, etc. There is no need to run the archive upgrade tool.

    However I have seen a pretty screwed up database become magically fixed after running the upgrade tool on the database. However the the database was merely uploaded and the upgrade tool at the same revision was run on it. After downloading the re-upgraded database, all appeared to be well. Go figure........ we all know that the developers are not going to tell us what happened there!

    PS - I very much appreciate our Canadian coder friends. Some of the best building control software is written up north. In fact the most efficient JC Basic routines I've ever seen came from one of my Canuck friends. But if you ever want to see Building Control code rock .......... Follow an Andover guy around. If they are any good, they can generate elaborate control sequences, that have other manufacturers pulling out their hair!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event