Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    21
    Post Likes

    Question Intellipak Fan Failure

    I am looking for some info i have a 75 ton trane rtu with Intellipak controls and a tracer 100 bcu, seems that the supply fan goes into a lockout and displays fan failure we check things out and re-start the unit and all looks good. Several hours later the unit is out on fan failure again? any help would be great.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,927
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by NRGTECH2 View Post
    I am looking for some info i have a 75 ton trane rtu with Intellipak controls and a tracer 100 bcu, seems that the supply fan goes into a lockout and displays fan failure we check things out and re-start the unit and all looks good. Several hours later the unit is out on fan failure again? any help would be great.
    the fan probably locks out on high duct static pressure...you get 2-3 automatic resets (after it hits it high duct static pressure setpoint) and then it locks out on a manual reset.

    you most likely have a low "high duct static pressure setpoint", a failed/failing sensor, a restricted "outdoor air pressure reference" or a restriction in your duct.
    "I got both hands on the wheel
    And my big foot on the gas"....Chickenfoot

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Metro ATL
    Posts
    454
    Post Likes
    I believe the unit should have a seperate static switch that confirms that the fan is running. They are simple normally open pressure switches. If the unit was going off on high static, that should be a seperate alarm. Sounds like the fan fail switch might be fluttering or failing. Check the hose attached to it and make sure nothing has gotten in the line and clogged it. Is there a VFD on the supply fan?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    21
    Post Likes
    There is no vfd on the supply fan just inlet guide veins. It seems to be a fan failure not static pressure failure. I will check the hoses and replace the switch.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jax Fl.
    Posts
    1,944
    Post Likes
    We have a fairly high failure rate on the supply fan status switches.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,927
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by jemawalton View Post
    ...If the unit was going off on high static, that should be a seperate alarm...
    good catch! missed that one.
    "I got both hands on the wheel
    And my big foot on the gas"....Chickenfoot

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Hbg., PA
    Posts
    14
    Post Likes
    I had the same problem. It turns out the 1/4" tubing to the sensor rubbed through causing the periodic failure. I think it was in the blower section and not easily accessable. Good Luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards