Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 27

Thread: Trane Rover 7.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,144

    Trane Rover 7.1

    Just noticed that there is Version 7 now. Wondering what changes have been made since 5 and 6?
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    727
    Updated functions for the new Tracer SC.

    Can now scan non-zl domains also i think.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,144
    Will Rover do the BACnet side too?
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    285
    No bacnet. It is really just a round about way of making Rover somewhat Lon Lns like. The new SC is not a network manager but just a standard device that hangs on the LON trunk. The new Rover lets you basically set up the trunk. You need to configure the trunk with Rover nice thing is now you will be able to use better software like LNS software to manage the trunk.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,144
    So... you can not integrate an SC without Rover? LonMaker cannot be used? If that is the case we won't see any here. The local branch keeps Rover locked down tighter than a crab's a**. I have Rover 5 that I purchased from a dealer selling the 'Residential and Light Commercial' line.
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    285
    I am waiting to get my hands on an SC but I see no reason Lonmaker would not work. Once the network is set up SC should work fine. Lonmaker sets up and manages the network same as Rover 7 is going to do.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    2,144
    That will be good, I hope you are right.
    "Controls is a lifestyle not a job" -klrogers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Garland
    Posts
    5

    Cool Rover 7.1

    I heard from a Trane tech that SC was basically Trane's version of being able to work different controls systems,ie TAC 527,511,Jci LN builder,FX 40.I am having lunch with A Trane programmer I will ask more questions about SC.It is kind of scary about Rover getting upgraded,This happened last time w/Tracer Summit ver.16,and after ver 17 came,I could not upload from BCU's anymore.As Dave 2142 said you should be able to do this from Lonmaker but you need the DB and LNS plug ins.What's messed up I was at a job and the
    equipment would not let me use Rover,I had to use Lonmaker(I have 3.1)even though I unplugged Lon and direct connected to board w/Rover.(Tried discover and it could not find it)FYI this was a TAC site.Hope this helps.
    Primo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    724
    Quote Originally Posted by Primo View Post
    What's messed up I was at a job and the
    equipment would not let me use Rover,I had to use Lonmaker(I have 3.1)even though I unplugged Lon and direct connected to board w/Rover.(Tried discover and it could not find it)FYI this was a TAC site.Hope this helps.
    Primo
    TAC most likely changed the DSN to something other that a "zero length", rover needs to see a ZL or 0 at the start of the B DSN. I usally use NLutil to go in another vendors link and reset this domain to allow Rover to operate normally.
    Beware of the prophet trying to make a profit.

    There is less oxygen from knee level to the floor! Check it out next time you tie your boots.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Garland
    Posts
    5

    Trane Rover

    Thanks Qtip,
    As usual this is the place for info,As soon as I saw it was a ZN 510,I knew it was a Trane unit that's why I used Rover 1st,instead of Vista/Lonmaker.I wish
    I knew of this forum back when I was exculsively in pneumatics.
    Primo

    Knowledge is power-unknown

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    9,564
    Quote Originally Posted by qtip View Post
    ...I usally use NLutil to go in another vendors link and reset this domain to allow Rover to operate normally.
    Now that's funny. Definitely have a sense of humor for sure.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    168
    Does anyone happen to have the CD image of 7.1? I bought a copy of it, and had it in my laptop bag, but when I went to go use it for a install, the disc is cracked.

    Either that or I have to pony up another $70 to Trane for a new one...
    NeonHomer
    BAS/BMS Technician/Computer Technician

    The definition of cruel joke is when you start work in BAS, and you run into your old T&B employer on the job.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    184
    Neonhomer send me an email. Might be able to work something out.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event