Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    23

    Confused RTAA screw Chiller-Changing oil & filters

    Does anyone have steps on changing oil on RTAA 370 air cooled screws-The book does not have info.
    Anyone done it out there?Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,058
    Thats because they are lifetime . Its not a car you dont do it every 3000miles
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    23

    Hmm

    The oil tested low acidic,and it looks dirty,sight glass is still green.I am megging motors This is a prosses chiller Cant Leave off long,trying to buy time.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    in a tree looking in your window
    Posts
    1,165
    Quote Originally Posted by graham View Post
    Thats because they are lifetime . Its not a car you dont do it every 3000miles
    They are SUPPOSED to be lifetime, that doesnt mean they NEVER need changed.

    Easiest way is to valve everything off and pump the gas out of the filter line into the condenser.

    Trace out the piping, its not very hard.
    If you dont stand behind our troops, please feel free...........to stand in front of them.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,058
    The oil filters and oil on an RTAA should not need changing unless you have bad oil analysis,or a compressor failure or burnout .
    Having said that I would be more concerned as to how the acidity got there in the first place ? Has the chiller has a compressor failure etc ? If it hasnt the only way acids could develop is from poor service procedures , insufficient evacuation etc.
    Also if you know the oil is acidic and the compressors still operate what are you hoping to prove by megging the motors ?? You know you have moisture so the megger readings will be screwey anyway? JMHO
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    23

    Wink

    Hi graham
    Thanks for your inpute!
    With out writing a book,I do know about moisture in the system and megging,Im not asking about any clean up issues.Ive cleaned up many systems ! I try to do things rite thats why I resurch things I dont know.I have not Removed oil from a screw chiller yet becouse you dont normally have to change the oil.I just wanted to know if anyone has and maybe thay would share some tips with me.Thanks again
    PS we just got this acount so I dont know how the service practices wear from the other company!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    23

    Thumbs up

    Thanks for the input chillr dude.That helps

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,058
    The only way to change all the oil would be to remove all the R22 as a vapour to leave the oil behind and then drain/blow out all the old oil .
    If it was my chiller I would change the oil filter and liquid line drier but use an acid core instead of a regular drier block and be sure to use good service practices/evacuation in the affected areas . Re sample the oil in a couple of weeks and see where your at and go from there .This would cause the least down time as its a process chiller .
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Windy City
    Posts
    23

    Wink

    HI GRAHAM
    Thank you very much ,That was a wonderfull Explanation.Sounds like that would be the best way to make shure its right.Thanks again

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    15
    Check this out should answer alot of questions page 121 has steps for changing filter

    http://www.trane.com/Commercial/Uplo...N_09012005.pdf

    Sorry this is the wrong book this is for 70-125 ton machines.....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northwest Indiana
    Posts
    1,302
    Quote Originally Posted by david1973 View Post
    Check this out should answer alot of questions page 121 has steps for changing filter

    http://www.trane.com/Commercial/Uplo...N_09012005.pdf

    Sorry this is the wrong book this is for 70-125 ton machines.....
    Great link!
    thank you
    If you cant fix it right, try again.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    874

    RTAA Service

    My experience with RTAA's, RTHA and RTHB's came while I was employed by our dear Mother. Learned a lot about megging compressors, especially at staart-up. I would get readings below 100k ohms. After calls to Colorado I was instructed that was NORMAL at initial start. Go ahead and start it, preform factory S/U log, then shut it down and re-meg it. My first reaction was "Hey guy your in Pueblo and I'm in Houston, so of course it's okay for you " I have to tell you I never had one go Hinky on me, or later on down the road that could have been related to low readings at S/U. RTAA's & RTHA's always had oil related problems. I used to carry at least a dozen FLR-0779's.on the oil changes on RTAA's, only for cause, filters annually. The 70 to 125 tons have the oversized filters, but still give you the pressure drop scale to check filter cleanliness. The larger RTAA's you valve it out, recover the pressure flip that gland nut, get a bucket under it and install the new one. Why couldn't they have mounted them vertically ? By the way if you get low megs on the intermediate compressors, check the terminals first.
    Geo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event