Results 1 to 13 of 15

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    7

    Bryant Evolution Error - can anyone help me diagnose

    Hi to all the HVAC pros on this site.

    I am a homeowner.

    I just had a local installer rip my 10 year old 5 ton Goodman builder grade system and replace with 2 separate Bryant Evolution controled variable speed furnaces, and 2 2 stage communicating outdoor units; 4 ton upstairs, 3 ton down (in a 4000 sqft 2 floor house). I specified the furnaces to be 95% and the AC was contracted to be better than 16 SEER, 13 EER as this is what triggers various rebates.

    In the process we added a lot of return air intakes all over the house (the old design had only one for the whole house).

    Each system is zoned to provide 2 zones.

    The evolution damper check complains about the zone 2 on my 3 ton downstairs unit. THe complaint comes after the damper check, but allows us to proceed and seems to work (airflow is huge to zone 2). The error I get is simply "check damper, zone 2". We did this and found it to be reversed in the airflow. We corrected this and it still complains with the same error and the numbers are unchanged.

    Stats that the evolution reports on 'boot up' or if I run a damper check

    static pressure measured (by the evolution) at .83 inch a 1200 CFM
    Zone 1 (most of the downstairs) = 64%
    Zone 2 (my office) = 18%
    Damper leakage = 18%

    My office is 1500 cubic feet of air.

    Can anyone with Evolution experience tell me what the system is concerend about with the "Check Damper" error message?

    Thank you so much.

    Mitch

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,914
    The class i just went to said to make sure when only 1 zone is calling, that zone has to meet the minimum airflow of the unit in low speed or it will shut down. An office seems to not need much airflow.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,081
    So the old system never cooled the house.
    Since you increased size 2 tons?
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Hastings, MN
    Posts
    417
    Sounds like a job for manual D better check it,
    Aint Notin Sweeter, Then A Brand New Heater!!!!!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by mwjhvac View Post
    Sounds like a job for manual D better check it,
    Yeh .... checking the damper, We have, kinda stumped with it. It seems to work - we can open, close it, it's in the right way (now). It's not blocked.

    If only there was one manual to read and it provided useful diagnostic help I would try that.

    I am a diagnostic engineer for a software company - not worried about reading a manual.

    My installer is scratching his head a bit on this one, but he is going to talk to Bryant about it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    What size is each damper??

    Any modifications to the supply ducts?

    Can you post pics of te indoor unit and connecting ducts?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    So the old system never cooled the house.
    Since you increased size 2 tons?
    The only way to cool the house would be set it to cool 69 and let it run all day. Even then the guest bed and my office would be cooking at 80 other rooms would be make it to 75 to 78 ish. I would be bankrupt due to electric cost. In summer, with the tstat at 82 where we got used to settting it, my elect bill was of the order of $500 a month. Out side temps at my location routinely sit in the 95 - 105 daytime, 75 -80 nighttime from June to September.

    I got about 6 bids for something new that would work and I could afford to run. Everyone had something different to say. One person was convinced my 5 ton sys was only drawing 3 tons of air through the return. Another was convinced my ducting was the the problem as well as returns. They all agreed the existing needed to go (of course) but there wasn't much consistency in the recommendations. A lot of people told me that R410a was a load of hype and I could do perfectly well with a brand new R22 based system (I begged to differ). I did a lot of reading. In the end, the guy I used was convinced the problem was return airflow and the fact that 5 tons simply enough for my house. I have 9ft ceilings so the volume of air is quite large. His price for 7 tons in two systems was the same as the 2 Trane bids for 5 tons zoned. So I went with that. (hope I didn't just break the rules - if so I appologize - newbie here).

    My biggest compaint about the whole experience (my only complaint) was that there was no way to get brand independent empirical advice. I would have paid if someone who knew they weren't going to sell a system could have advised me.

    Now it's in - I am in the one month a year where I neither heat or cool - so I can't tell if it is working yet. But early evidence from testing seems very good.

    Mitch

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event