Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Undersized geothermal system?

I have read a number of the threads on this website and greatly appreciate the expertise of those who share their experience. Here is my problem:

I am planning to install an open loop geothermal system HVAC system in North Carolina on a new home construction. I have already contracted with a local HVAC firm with experience with geothermal systems, but as I learn more about these systems, I am concerned that the HVAC system itself and the size of the loop may be undersized for the home. As a physician, I am a firm believer in the concept of a second opinion, and I was hoping someone who specializes in designing geothermal systems could provide a second opinion about the installation we have planned. I recognize that without floorplans in hand, the opinions provided will be just estimates, but I'd like to know if we are in the right ballpark. Unfortunately, I have very little time to obtain this information (just thought of the idea of a second opinion, though it seems obvious in retrospect). The well has already been dug and the duct work laid. The HVAC system itself has not been installed, however, though I expect it will be within a week or so if I let it proceed. I would be happy to provide whatever information I can to expedite the process:

house size: total 4675 square feet

* 2100 sq ft first floor - half 11 ft ceilings / half 10 ft ceilings
    * 1900 sq ft 2nd floor - 9 ft ceilings
    * 675 sq ft attic - 9 ft ceilings (attic will be finished; insulated roof deck)

crawl space construction with sealed crawl space

house faces south

windows

* quite a bit of window facing north and south
    * windows are Jeld-Wen Premium Wood Siteline EX Low E, argon filled
    * U-value = 0.32
    * CR = 55
    * SHGC = 0.27

insulation - two options being considered

* open cell foam entire house with 5" in roof deck + 3.5" in 2x4 construction