Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Paint Smell Coming From Furnace

Hello..

Last fall I painted one room in a small apartment with oil based primer. When I bought the primer, the very experienced paint guy told me not to run the furnace because it would take a long time to get the oil primer smell out of the hvac system. By the time I got around to actualling putting the primer on the temperature outside had dropped into the low 30's and I was pretty much forced to run the furnace during the painting process and after. It is now at least 4 months later and I can still smell an odor coming from the ducts. There was no odor there prior to the painting so I am assuming paint is the cause. I have painted with latex while the furnace was runnining the past and not had an issue but this is my first time using an oil based primer indoors. If you just let the fan run there is no odor at all...it only happens when the burners are on. The odor can be smelled primarily after the heat exchanger.

Has anyone ever heard of this issue and any way to minimize the odor?

Thanks in advance for your replies.
    Last edited by chevys10; 03-11-2009 at 03:18 PM.

Do you have a small portable electric space heater.
    If so, turn the stat to off. And put the heater in that room. And set the temp up high.

If you start to get that odor in that room, then the primer is still curing/off gassing.
    And you can't do much about it. Except repaint the room with an acrylic paint, to seal in the primer odor.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

There are 2 coats of acrylic latex on top of the oil base primer. There is no odor at all in the room unless the furnace is firing.

Any chance primer got in the ducts or register boots while you were primering.

You may want to call a restoration company.
    They know how to handle odors.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional