Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 23
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7

    R410A refrigerant problems?

    We have just had a new York Affinity 3S installed, replacing a Carrier Infinity that was installed Aug. 08, and encountering same problems -- won't bring temp up to setting, blowing cold air, both use the new R410A refrigerant. Is this the common problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,876
    Was this unit (both units) sized correctly with a manual J??

    Are you only having this problem now or has this always been a problem??

    If this is a new problem, what else has been changed on your home??

    410A is definitely not the issue here....you have something else going on.....
    I need a new signature.....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,687
    did the same company do both installs?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,789
    R410A doesn't have a problem in heating mode of heat pumps.

    What size was the original heat pump the Carrier replaced.
    What size was the Carrier.
    Is the York the same size.
    Did the original system before the Carrier heat your house ok.
    What is the outdoor temp when it won't come up to temp.
    Is your aux heat gas, oil, or electric.
    How much aux heat do you have, if electric.
    Are you sure its not cold air from defrost your feeling.
    What size is your house.
    Was a load calc done to size the unit, or just replace like for like sizing.
    What did your contractor say about it not heating right.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,687
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    R410A doesn't have a problem in heating mode of heat pumps.

    What size was the original heat pump the Carrier replaced.
    What size was the Carrier.
    Is the York the same size.
    Did the original system before the Carrier heat your house ok.
    What is the outdoor temp when it won't come up to temp.
    Is your aux heat gas, oil, or electric.
    How much aux heat do you have, if electric.
    Are you sure its not cold air from defrost your feeling.
    What size is your house.
    Was a load calc done to size the unit, or just replace like for like sizing.
    What did your contractor say about it not heating right.
    That there is alot of questions.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,991

    Why did you take the infinity out?

    I have installed many infinity's and they are the best.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Chester County PA
    Posts
    426
    I'll stab at it and say, in short, the electric heat package may be undersized...

    I won't go into all the "if's" and "whats" about it but have a qualified service tech some out and do a full analysis on your system.
    The installing company should back their work.

    ~smoke~
    "That motor's done, he let the factory smoke charge out!"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    GULF COAST
    Posts
    7
    i have had no problems with them

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7
    We've lived in same house for 30 yrs., had two heat pump units, 2 1/2 tons, providing comfortable air and heating prior to current problems. Two different companies installed -- old York died in Aug '08 and Carrier Infinity was installed. First problem was in air-conditioning, air was cold but still humidity in the house. When weather turned cold,
    40's down to teens during Dec., Jan., and Feb., the unit would not bring temp up to set point and maintain, constantly dropped 2, 3 degrees and kicked on aux heat. Unit had 2 heat strips, I think. When aux kicked on we felt blast of hot air, unit would kick off and instantly temp started dropping. Installer continued to insist that problem was windows, insulation, duct work, thermostat was changed three times. He finally got angry enough at our insistence that there was another problem, he offered to remove the unit and refund our money -- we gladly took the offer. Next unit was York Affinity installed next day,February 26, different company. Same problem began within first 48 hours. Installer returned this morning with York rep, found several problems. Fan speed was set up for 3 ton unit, ours is 2 1/2, accounting they said for drafts. Several wiring errors were corrected on outside unit. Today we are in the 60's, unit has maintained temp at 73. We will have more temps in the 30's later this week to test their findings and corrections. Wish I had known about this forum and posted about 6 months ago, might have helped me with questions for installers. They also assured me that R410A was good choice. Thanks for responses.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,687
    Sounds like the work of one of the companies that will "beat anybody's price". Glad to hear you had somebody that knew what they were doing come out.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7
    Another question please? York rep said yesterday that cool drafts I have experienced since installation would be corrected by adjustment of fan speed -- unfortunately, not so. Unit brings house to temp set with no problem, nice warm air, but as soon as the unit kicks off I begin to feel the same cool drafts. Any suggestions as to problem here? Could it be another reduction in fan speed is needed and that's the only problem?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,789
    During cooler weather, the HP’s discharge air temp is not warm enough to feel like warm air when it blowers against our warmer skin.
    So he may have thought that is what you were feeling. After the strip heaters shut off, and the HP is running only.

    So he may have suggested the lower blower speed to counter that.

    If what you are feeling is a cool draft after everything is not running.
    It could be, that there is an air leak in the duct system.
    Or missing insulation on a section of duct work.

    Sometimes, the duct system, just creates a natural draft.
    And that can be hard to stop.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,687
    try using a higher setpoint.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event