Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14

Thread: Tripped breaker

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    540

    Tripped breaker

    I have a Carrier Heat pump, about 2 years old (new home). Yesterday the main breaker tripped. After wondering why the house was 20 degrees below set point I discovered that problem, I reset it and all seems well. My AH filter is 4" 3M (20" x 25") only about 2 months old, so I don't think it's a AH resistance problem. Should I call an HVAC guy to check it out or wait to see if it trips again? Seems to cool and heat fine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    By "main breaker" ,do you mean the one for the indoor or outdoor section, of the heat pump??

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    540
    Outdoor in main breaker box. My Thermostat was "blank", so pretty much cut power to anything AC related.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,687
    Quote Originally Posted by TConnors View Post
    Outdoor in main breaker box. My Thermostat was "blank", so pretty much cut power to anything AC related.
    Meaning the indoor unit, but breaker is located outside?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,687
    There should be seperate breakers for the indoor and outdoor units, if not you have problems.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    We must be talking package unit here.....?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,673
    A blatant violation of the rules!
    Last edited by Senior Tech; 03-02-2009 at 10:44 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    A "free fix" that might just result in major medical bills????
    Just my opinion here.....If you have to borrow a meter, maybe you should just call a tech.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,673
    Quote Originally Posted by WhoIsThat? View Post
    A blatant violation of the rules!
    Sorry!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Round Rock
    Posts
    3,623
    Who knows why the breaker tripped. Could be a breaker going bad. But they trip for a reason. It wouldn't hurt to get it checked out.
    I like DIY'ers. They pay better to fix.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    540
    I plan on calling a tech if it trips again. On the outdoor panel I have a "AC" breaker, a 30A and 60A both labeled "Furnace". The "60A "Furnace" is what tripped. My "guess" is it got cold real fast and emergency heat came on and possibly overloaded the breaker. I don't plan on playing electrician, I'll call for help if it trips again. I was really just wondering if an AH can cause a breaker to trip once in 2 years due to some abnormal surge... or if my 4" 3M merv13 filter may be causing too much resistance for the fan motor. AH is in attic, single speed motor, 4 Ton "builders" unit.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,687
    With a clogged filter on a furnace you worry about problems that come frrom excessive heat rise. With an air handler with a clogged filter, you are actually drawing less amps, because the fan is doing less work. Heat strips should be on their own breaker also.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,673
    A breaker that trips very infrequently can be hard to troubleshoot, but there are recording instruments that can monitor key system test points and babysit them until the fault shows up.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event