Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Trane XL19i 2TWZ9030/XC95-60BTU/5 ton coil problem

I just had a new Trane system installed. The install company can't seem to fix the Heat Pump vibration and pulse throbing sound when the 2nd stage compressor is running. The system consist of:
    Trane XL19i 2TWZ9030/XC95-60BTU(TUH3B060ACVAA)/5 ton coil on top(2TXCC060BC3HCAA)/ 7/8" & 3/8" copper lines about 45' long

The 5 ton coil also sticks out 1-3/4" on each side of the furnace. I am not a trained expert but this does not seem like a very good match to me. Can someone help me out on this issue?
    Last edited by urojohn; 02-28-2009 at 06:02 PM.

Might help the Trane guys if you posted the furnace model number also.
    Contractor locator map

How-to-apply-for-Professional

How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

I'm not familiar with the pulse noise you're talking about, but the reason the coil cabinet is wider than the furnace is because the only rated match with any size XL19i heat pump is a 5 ton indoor coil and the narrowest one you can get is 21".

So you get into a situation where it is aesthetically unpleasing but unfortunately there is no alternative.

Now, what we would have done is build a short transition between the coil and the furnace that tapers out to make it look a little better. But it is certainly not necessary for anything other than appearances and not always possible due to height restrictions.

Just out of curiosity what is the next digit after the 2TWZ9030?

does this only occur during heat pump operation? i see you are in minneapolis, i'm guessing you haven't run it in cool mode yet. could be a line set vibration in which case your installer needs to check it. its more common in thru the wall linesets.
    "When the people find they can vote themselves money,that will herald the end of the republic" - Benjamin Franklin