Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    41

    Capacitance Meter/Microfarads

    what do you guys use?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,406
    Fluke 902 everyday all day. Does everything I need heating and AC.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,997
    Quote Originally Posted by ptemko View Post
    Fluke 902 everyday all day. Does everything I need heating and AC.
    except reading higher ohm scale for thermistors lol. for that and other readings i have the 179
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hamilton Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,406
    Well I also carry the Fluke 116 but mainly use the 902 for everything else.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,459
    I have both a Fluke 116 and the AmRad Turbo Meter.http://www.americanradionic.com/content/view/61/74/

    Both work great. If I have the Fluke out testing something else - I will just use it , but if i open the unit up to test only the Cap(not sure when this would be) I pull out the Turbo Meter. Really it just comes down to which one I remembered to bring from the truck. I don't think I need the Turbo because the Fluke works great, I just got a great deal on it on e-bay, so I bought it.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,673
    I see that the Fluke 116 can measure .09 uF, which is how much capacitance at 120v and 60 Hz is needed to cause 4 mA reactive leakage current, which trips GFCIs.
    Dunno' if you guys have to prove your motors are or are not tripping GFCIs.

    You may be able to check calibration if you get some cost effective caps from these guys
    http://www.google.com/search?client=...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    41
    Well i have to say im leaning towards the fluke 116, sounds like some good reviews and i like the kit they sell with the infrared gun....

    Only thing is it looks like u have to buy the current clamp seperately?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenville,North Carolina
    Posts
    1,903
    I use my: Fluke 16,116,and 902 for that depending on what bag I have with me.
    Look to the past to learn;look forward to live.

    Coach Dean E. Smith

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1,673
    I guess you should compute how many ranges of how many useful functions (capacitance, voltage, current, temp.) vs. the accuracy that you are getting, for the dollars you spend.
    On top of that you should have in mind critical values for these four that are "must-haves" for the work that you do.

    If a certain model is not selling well, or if one manuf. is trying to steal the market from another one, you can get a lot of functions for a good price-per-function.

    I have a BK 391 from several years ago and I paid less than the current posted price. I would have liked to get a capacitance function but instead I measure voltage and current and I calculate capacitance (I wanted the 4-1/2 digits).

    A clamp on ammeter probe for this meter is separate.
    Factory calibration with a printout is 1/3rd of the current price. With inexpensive external shunts, voltage reference ICs, resistors, etc., you can do a lot of your own field calibration, or at least compare readings with meters that you know are working properly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,333
    Use my trusty Fluke 87-5. It hasn't let me down yet.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,840
    i use my fluke 16

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    83
    Fluke 116 and mine came in a kit with the 322 clamp.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Western NC
    Posts
    33
    Extech 623

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event