Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Had a interview with local 392 today

I walked in the room and we all introduced ourselves. I took a seat after being instructed.

First question they asked me was why do I want to do this work? I replied, "It's in my heart and detailed in my resume are the steps I have taken to position myself here at this time".

Second question they asked was Do I currently work in the field and what do I do? I replied, " Yes I currently do work in this trade and I work for XYZ Heating and Cooling. I troubleshoot,repair, and pm on a daily basis. But I work on the small stuff right now. My goal is to move to the big stuff and continue growing as a tech".

Third question was what are my strengths? I replied, that I'm a quick learner and I'm very adaptive to my surroundings. Now with me saying this was want to add that I put in the work outside of work by reading books and the internet so that when I get to work I can be a great tech".

Lastly they asked if I had any questions? I asked them what is expected of myself as an apprentice on a daily basis? They replied, to walk onto the site and tell folks to get out my way and start fixing things. We all laughed .

Then there was a awkward silence for about 45 seconds and then they said thank you and you'll hear something in two weeks.

It was the most non personal and awkward interview I've ever had. I have no idea how I did because all they did was take notes and read my file .

What do you guys think about the entire exchange?

I interviewed back in December with a different local, and the exchange was similar. It was a small room with a big oval table. The head of the JATC was asking the questions, but there were six other older guys writing something. It lasted no more than five minutes and seemed a bit awkward.