Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes

    Static Pressure on Package Unit w/o duct access

    Hey guys I was curious if you guys would share any tricks for getting the static pressure of a package unit where the duct is not accessible. I have a 5 Ton York Gas Package Unit with an X-13 installed. Unfortunately the prior company butted the unit up directly against the wall and the duct is completely covered with sheet rock. Can I just drill a hole in the Return Section Panel and another in the Supply Side panel?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Louisburg Kansas
    Posts
    952
    Post Likes
    You can try it but don't expect good results. With that install you can't get enough other info such as air flow to evaluate how good the static measurements are. Your discharge will most likely be in the fan blast area and the reading might even be negative. Why do you need the statics?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Fayetteville, NC
    Posts
    42
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    York's warranty policy, the system was installed in 2009 had a contractor and condenser fan motor changed in 2012 and now in 2017 the evaporator coil started leaking and they won't give me warranty credit until I fill out a special diagnostics sheet.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Anderson, South Carolina, United States
    Posts
    17,161
    Post Likes
    Yea you can drill the door that the blower is behind but the supply is hard to get to in that unit. you have to pull the top to get to where you can drill a hole in the supply transition in the condenser compartment.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Louisburg Kansas
    Posts
    952
    Post Likes
    Do you have a spec sheet for that unit? Can you get to the return duct to run a traverse? Can you post the diagnostic sheet on here? Will it hold refrigerant long enough for the unit to cool to design? The reason for these questions is it may be possible to calculate the info you can't measure.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    2,898
    Post Likes
    I made a long, home made static probe out of 1/8" tubing with some small holes drilled in the sides near the curved end that allowed me to reach deep into the ducts for better sampling in a turbulent airstream. (Similar to the manufactured probes)

    A little comparison testing with a manufactured probe will allow you to verify that your work is reliable. Cheap and easy to do.
    "I have never let my schooling interfere with my education."
    Mark Twain
    NEVER STOP LEARNING.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Vancouver Island, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    24
    Post Likes
    That's a great idea. Can you post a picture of the probe?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    2,898
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Action1 View Post
    That's a great idea. Can you post a picture of the probe?
    Sorry, I have retired and no longer have one to photograph.
    "I have never let my schooling interfere with my education."
    Mark Twain
    NEVER STOP LEARNING.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Yuma, AZ
    Posts
    2,898
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Action1 View Post
    That's a great idea. Can you post a picture of the probe?
    Sorry, I have retired and no longer have one to photograph.
    "I have never let my schooling interfere with my education."
    Mark Twain
    NEVER STOP LEARNING.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Vancouver Island, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    24
    Post Likes
    No problem. Thanks for the idea

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.